Related topics

Sports Shorts

September 28, 1987

DEARBORN, Mich. (AP) _ Carl Schueler won the 20,000-meter men’s race to become the first American to capture that event in the nine years of the annual Duofold-Alongi International Racewalk Championship in suburban Detroit.

Schueler, 31, of Colorado Springs, Colo., finished the course Sunday in 1 hour, 26 minutes, 30 seconds to lead about 25 competitors. A separate prize for the event’s fastest time after 10,000 meters went to Douglas Fournier of Racine, Wis., with a 45:18 clocking.

An international field of about 300 men and women participated in four events, including that won by Fournier. The women’s 5,000-meter event was won by Lora Rigutto of Canada in 23:09.

A separate, 2,000-meter walk was held for local residents.


PORTLAND, Ore. (AP) - Leonard Hill of Klamath Falls won his third straight Portland Marathon title, finishing more than 90 seconds ahead of runner-up Rich McCandless of Camarillo, Calif.

Hill, 35, was clocked at 2 hours, 19.29 seconds Sunday, far short of his personal best of 2:16.43 and the course record of 2:17.53 set by Alan Koop in 1984.

McCandless, 31, finished at 2:21.04. Kevin Matthews of Bellevue, Wash., was third in 2:21.26.

Lori Jorgensen, 28, of Mahopac, N.Y., was the women’s winner, finishing in a personal record 2:43.21 and leading a pack of five women who have qualified for the 1988 U.S. Olympic marathon trials. Kathy Nichols of West Linn was second at 2:45.17.

The race, one of the last major marathons in the nation that does not offer prize money, was run under mostly clear skies with temperatures in the 50s. A light but steady wind kept times slow.


LEXINGTON, Ohio (AP) - A four-man Morrison-Cook Motor Sports team covered 758 laps to win the Escort 24-hour endurance race Sunday at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

The team of Stuart Hayner, Don Knowles, John Heinricy and Bobby Carradine completed the most laps Sunday to win the SS Class of the race, the sixth in the seven-race series.

Twenty-five of the 42 teams entered in four classes finished the day-long race which began Saturday at 3 p.m.

The Rick Hurst team of John O’Steen, Price Cobb and Kees Nierop drove their Porsche 944S to victory in the SSGT class.

The team of John Buffum, Gene Felton, Jon Woodner, Jeff Andretti and Michael Hoppen drove an Audi Quatro to victory in Class A.

In Class B, Team Honda drivers Lance Stewart, Ron Lauzon, Scott Gaylord, Mark Wolocatiuk and Ron Haase raced their Honda CRX-S to victory.

The seventh and final race of the series is scheduled for Oct. 31 at Sebring, Fla.


CLEVELAND (AP) - The Cleveland Indians drew 1,077,-898 fans to home games this season, giving the team its first back-to-back seasons over the one million mark since 1979-80.

The Indians closed their home season Sunday with an 11-8 loss to the California Angels before a crowd of 13,979. Cleveland was 35-46 in Cleveland Stadium this season.

The Indians averaged 13,644 fans per home date.

Their combined total of 2,-549,875 for 1986 and 1987 was the best two-year total since 1954-55, when they attracted 2,-557,252 fans.

Cleveland has drawn more than a million fans only seven times since 1955.

Update hourly