Related topics

The Latest: Voters weigh in on Alaska primary

August 21, 2018

ANCHORAGE, Alaska (AP) — The Latest on Alaska’s primary election (all times local):

2:45 p.m.

Voter turnout was light in early voting during Alaska’s primary election.

Voters were choosing candidates for governor, the Alaska Legislature and the state’s lone U.S. House seat. No U.S. Senate races were on the ballot.

At Kincaid Elementary School in southwest Anchorage, Richard Thwaites said he chose the Republican ballot and cast a vote for Mead Treadwell.

The former lieutenant governor’s experience appealed to Thwaites. He says Treadwell has been involved in state, national and international affairs and has been outside the core legislative group.

Self-described liberal Democrat George Freeman chose the Democratic ballot at Inlet View Elementary School and voted for Alyse Galvin on the recommendation of neighbors.

Freeman says the main race in his downtown district is for state House. The Democratic nominee for U.S. House will face longtime Republican Rep. Don Young. Freeman says the U.S. House race is probably a waste of everybody’s time.


6 a.m.

Primaries for governor and U.S. House top the ticket in Alaska Tuesday.

Voters will choose a Republican nominee to advance to what is expected to be a hard-fought battle for governor this fall. They’ll also choose the latest contender to try to unseat Republican U.S. Rep. Don Young, the longest-serving member of the U.S. House.

Former state Sen. Mike Dunleavy and former Lt. Gov. Mead Treadwell are the highest-profile candidates seeking the GOP nod for governor, with the winner advancing to November’s general election.

Gov. Bill Walker, an independent, skipped Tuesday’s primaries, while former U.S. Sen. Mark Begich is unopposed in the Democratic primary. Libertarian William “Billy” Toien also is running.

In the Democratic U.S. House primary, independent Alyse Galvin and Democrat Dimitri Shein are among those vying for a shot to challenge Young, 85, who has served in the House for 45 years and is expected to win his primary.

Update hourly