Related topics

Woodson Adds to Trophy Collection

December 16, 1997

DALLAS (AP) _ Heisman Trophy winner Charles Woodson added another trophy to his collection on Monday night _ the Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

The award is given to the player considered college football’s best defensive player, regardless of position.

Michigan’s junior cornerback won the award over four other semifinalists _ Nebraska defensive end Grant Wistrom, Nebraska tackle Jason Peter, Florida State linebacker Sam Cowart and Ohio State linebacker Andy Katzenmoyer.

The award is presented each year by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America.

Past winners are Arizona’s Rob Waldrop in 1993, Miami’s Warren Sapp in 1994 and Northwestern’s Pat Fitzgerald in 1995 and 1996.

Update hourly