Related topics

Sports Shorts

January 21, 1990

MELBOURNE, Australia (AP) _ Britain’s Ronan Rafferty shot a 3-under-par 69 Sunday and won the $550,000 Coca-Cola Classic golf tournament at Royal Melbourne.

Rafferty’s total of 10-under-par 278 gave him a two-stroke victory over American Bryan Watts, who had a closing 70.

Rafferty collected $97,000, while Watts received $57,600, his biggest paycheck ever.

Tied for third at 281 were co-third-round leaders Peter Fowler of Australia and Fiji’s Vijay Singh, Australian Open champion Peter Senior and American Donnie Hammond.

U.S. PGA champion Payne Stewart shot a final-round 73 for a 288 total, one stroke ahead of countryman Craig Stadler, who closed with a 71. Bernhard Langer of West Germany had a final-round 73 for 289.


NEW YORK (AP) - Mike Keohane of Livingston, N.J., won the New York Road Runners Club Frostbite 10-mile race for the second straight year Sunday, clocking 50 minutes, 28 seconds, in a driving rain in Central Park.

Keohane, 24, set the meet record of 49:35 last year.

Charles Miers of the New York Athletic Club, the 1988 winner, was second in 52:43, followed by John Cantwell of Queens Village, N.Y., in 54:47, and Nicholes Tsilibes of New York in 55:20.

Tom Phillips, in finishing fifth in 55:32, led the Central Park Track Club to the team title with 22 points.

Jean Chodnicki of the Warren Stree AC was the first women’s finisher in 1:04.04, followed by Sandra Inoa of Cypress Hills, N.Y., in 1:05.22.

Cynthia Austrian was third in 1:06.26 and led the Atalanta TC to the team championship with 19 points.


HEERENVEEN, Netherlands (AP) - Bart Veldkamp of The Netherlands won the European men’s speedskating championship and Gunda Kleemann of East Germany took the women’s title Sunday.

Veldkamp seized the lead in the overall standings from countryman Ben van de Burg by winning the 10,000-meter event in 14 minutes, 1.08 seconds.

Tomas Gustafson of Sweden was second in the men’s championship standings and Leo Visser of The Netherlands was third.

In the 10,000-meter race, Thomas Bos of The Netherlands finished second in 14:03.01 and Geir Karlstad of Norway was third in 14:05.45.

The women’s competition turned into an all-East German affair, with Jacqueline Boerner finishing second and Heike Schalling third.

Kleemann clocked 7:24.76 for the 5,000-meter race, followed by Schalling in 7:31.53 and Boerner in 7:35.90.

East German favorite Constance Moser was disqualified because of a foul.

Update hourly