Daily Chronicle journalists win more than 40 awards in Illinois Press Association contest

May 4, 2019

SPRINGFIELD – Daily Chronicle journalists won more than 40 awards, including nine first-place honors, for their work in 2018 in the Illinois Press Association’s annual contest.

The winners were announced Friday at the conclusion of the press association’s annual convention.

“The Illinois Press Association represents newspapers from around our state, and its annual contest is great validation of the work of our journalists,” General Manager Eric Olson said. “I’m pleased and proud to have the opportunity to work with so many talented people in one of Illinois’ best communities.”

Photo Editor Mark Busch captured top honors in three contest categories, winning for best sports photo, best sports personality portrait, and best photo series. Busch’s photos received 13 awards in all in the contest.

Sports Editor Eddie Carifio won for best sports column, and Reporter Katrina J.E. Milton won first place for best agriculture story or series. Olson and Reporter Katie Finlon, now with the Yorkville-based Kendall County Record newspaper, shared a first-place award for freedom of information reporting, awarded to the newspaper that did the most during the previous year to uphold the principles of the First Amendment and to protect the public’s right to know.

Olson also won a first-place award for best original column.

Former Daily Chronicle employees also won awards for work done during their time at the paper, including Josh Tolentino for best sports feature and Christopher Heimerman for best feature story.

The Daily Chronicle completes against other small dailies around Illinois.