Related topics

Postal Stamp Selection Committee Expanded

May 4, 1993

WASHINGTON (AP) _ The committee that selects designs for American postage stamps is getting seven new members, the U.S. Postal Service announced today.

The Citizen’s Stamp Advisory Committee is being restored to 15 members with the new appointees by Postmaster General Marvin Runyon.

Retirements had reduced membership to just eight by the start of this year.

Runyon also named a current member of the group, Virginia Noelke of San Angelo, Texas, as chairman of the committee.

Noelke teaches history at Angelo State University and has served on the committee since 1975. Postal officials said she will be the first woman to head the selection group.

The committee chooses the 25 to 30 subjects used each year on U.S. stamps from thousands of annual suggestions. Members are not paid but are compensated for time spent in meetings and for expenses to attend the meetings.

Newly appointed to the committee are:

-Michael Brock, a Los Angeles designer and consultant.

-Meredith Davis of Raleigh, N.C., professor of product design at North Carolina State University.

-Phil Meggs of Richmond, Va., a graphic designer and design history instructor at Virginia Commonwealth University.

-Barbara Gardner Proctor, president of Proctor & Gardner Advertising, Inc., in Chicago.

-Ron Robinson, chairman and chief executive officer of Cranford Johnson Robinson Woods, a public relations firm in Little Rock, Ark.

-Isabel Valdes, founder and president of Hispanic Market Connections, Inc., Los Alto, Calif.

-Irma Zandl, president and founder of the Zandl Group, a New York youth market consulting company.

Continuing members of the selection committee are David Lewis Enyon of Bryn Mawr, Pa.; C. Douglas Lewis of Washington; Karl Malden, Beverly Hills, Calif.; Stephen T. McLin of San Francisco; Mary Ann Owens of Brooklyn, N.Y.; Richard ″Digger″ Phelps of South Bend, Ind., and John Sawyer III of Laguna Niguel, Calif.

Update hourly