RHP Grayson Rodriguez is TSWA 3A player of the year

August 2, 2018

BRYAN, Texas (AP) — Nacogdoches Central Heights pitcher Grayson Rodriguez has been named the player of the year on the Texas Sports Writers Association Class 3A all-state baseball team.

The 6-foot-3, 230-pound right-hander was drafted in the first round of the Major League Baseball draft and signed with the Baltimore Orioles. He was 12-0 with a 0.19 earned run average in his senior season, striking out 156 in 75 innings and allowing four runs, only two of them earned. He also batted .479 with nine home runs and 49 runs batted in.


Pitchers: Grayson Rodriguez, Nacogdoches Central Heights, sr.; Elijah Trest, White Oak, sr.; Trey Lindsay, Beckville, sr.

Relief pitcher: Austin Bryan, Beckville, jr.

Catcher: Dryden Virden, Wall, sr.

First baseman: John Pleming, Childress, sr.

Second baseman: Devin Alvey, Peaster, sr.

Shortstop: Heath Hood, White Oak, sr.

Third baseman: Evan Hafley, Peaster, sr.

Outfielders: Royce Carrera, Falfurrias, sr.; (tie) Ethan Harris, Beckville, sr.; Colby Newman, Nixon Smiley, sr.; Gage Weishuhn, Wall, jr.

Designated hitter: Riley McKinney, Hughes Springs, sr.

Player of the year: Rodriguez, Nacogdoches Central Heights

Coach of the year: John Broussard, Georgetown Gateway Prep


Pitchers: Bryce Galvan, Tidehaven, sr.; Jacob Burton, New Diana, sr.; Ryan Targac, Hallettsville, soph. Jase Lopez, Brock, jr.

Relief pitcher: Taylor Smith, Georgetown Gateway, sr.

Catcher: Ben Bridges, Beckville, sr.

First baseman: Kree Dycus, Idalou, jr.

Second baseman: Zach Aragon, Shallowater, sr.

Shortstop: Alex Bruce, Hughes Springs, sr.

Third baseman: Denver Evans, Yoakum, sr.

Outfielders: Reese Orsak, Edna, jr.; Cutter Sparks, Shallowater, jr.; Caleb Heuertz, Wall, soph.

Designated hitter: Ty Tilson, Georgetown Gateway, soph.


Pitchers: Zeke Collins, Beckville, sr.; Cole Johnson, Georgetown Gateway, jr.; (tie) Ty Jackson, Shallowater, sr.; Matthew Grimes, Peaster, sr.; Carter Guinn, Clifton, sr.

Relief pitcher: Brayden Bradley, Groesbeck, sr.

Catcher: (tie) Brad Aynsley, Falfurrias, soph.; Kade Brewer, Whitesboro, sr.

First baseman: (tie) Ty Jones, Beckville, sr.; Jayden Morgan, Edgewood, jr.; Sutton Hurst, Wall, jr.

Second baseman: Rhett Trlicek, Hallettsville, jr.

Shortstop: (tie) Cole Lightfoot, Brock, sr.; Trey Erwin, Edgewood, sr.; Tanner Seider, Wall, jr.

Third baseman: Tyler Williams, Shallowater, jr.

Outfielders: Logan Titsworth, Sunnyvale, jr.; Colby Siegley, White Oak, sr.; (tie) Tanner Patino, Brock, sr.; Mason Brandenberger, Clifton, soph.

Designated hitter: Cayman Freiman, Clyde, sr.

Update hourly