Related topics

Engraving and Printing Chief Named

December 8, 1998

WASHINGTON (AP) _ Thomas A. Ferguson was appointed by Treasury Secretary Robert Rubin on Monday as director of the federal agency that prints the nation’s paper money, Treasury securities and more than half of its postage stamps.

A 24-year veteran at the Bureau of Engraving and Printing, Ferguson has been deputy director since November 1997 and acting director since January, when his predecessor, Larry E. Rolufs, left.

In an earlier position, Ferguson directed the redesign of the nation’s currency to make it more difficult to counterfeit. So far, the government has issued redesigned $100, $50 and $20 notes. New $10 and $5 bills are planned for 2000.

Rubin also named Thomas C. Harris to succeed Ferguson as deputy director. As associate director for operations, Harris has been responsible for operations at the bureau’s two printing plants, in Washington and Fort Worth, Texas.

Separately, President Clinton took advantage of the congressional recess to whisk three Treasury nominees into temporary ``recess positions.″ The appointments of Timothy Geithner, Edwin Truman and John Hawke Jr. will last until the end of the next congressional session.

Geithner has been promoted from assistant secretary for international affairs to undersecretary of the Treasury for international affairs. He will act as an adviser to Rubin and Deputy Treasury Secretary Lawrence Summers on international economic policy.

Geithner has served as a career civil servant at the Treasury Department since 1988.

Truman will fill Geithner’s position as assistant secretary for international affairs. Truman was previously staff director of the Division of International Finance of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System.

Hawke has been named comptroller of the currency, which is responsible for regulating the national banking system and federally licensed branches of foreign banks operating in the United States. He currently is the under secretary of the Treasury for domestic finance.

Clinton sent all three nominations to Congress on Oct. 8, 1998 and will resubmit the nominations when the 106th Congress convenes.

Update hourly