Rock and Roll Hall of Fame unveils shortlist for class of 2019

October 9, 2018

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame on Tuesday announced 15 artists nominated to be inducted into the institution in 2019: Def Leppard, Devo, Janet Jackson, John Prine, Kraftwerk, LL Cool J, MC5, Radiohead, Rage Against the Machine, Roxy Music, Stevie Nicks, the Cure, Todd Rundgren, Rufus Chaka Kahn and the Zombies.

Music professionals and fans alike will whittle down the list of hopefuls prior to next year’s inductees being decided in December, the Rock Hall said in a statement.

Those finalists typically five or six artists will then be formally inducted during a ceremony scheduled for March 29 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn.

Nominees become eligible for induction 25 years following the release of their first recording, and over 300 artists across multiple genres have been recognized by the institution since its establishment in 1983.

Six of the nominees among the potential class of 2019 are on the ballot for the first time, and more than a few of the others have been passed over in the past.

The nods are a first for Def Leppard, Devo, Prine, Roxy Music, and Rundgren, as well as the first as a solo artist for Nicks, a member of Fleetwood Mac who was previously inducted with the rest of the group in 1998.

LL Cool J and Kraftwerk were each unsuccessfully nominated four times in the past, while both MC5 and the Zombies have received three nods apiece to no avail.

A group of over 1,000 artists, historians and music industry figures will determine the finalists, except for a “fan’s ballot” that will let the public pick an inductee by voting either online or in person at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum in Cleveland.

Update hourly