Related topics

New Zealand wins toss, South Africa bats 1st

March 24, 2014

CHITTAGONG, Bangladesh (AP) — New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum won the toss and elected to field first against South Africa on Monday.

South Africa regular captain Faf Du Plessis returned to the squad after recovering from a hamstring injury. To accommodate him in the side, Farhaan Behardien was left out. The rest of the team at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium remained unchanged.

New Zealand fielded the same squad that won the first match against England.

South Africa lost its first match to Sri Lanka by five runs in the last over.


South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf Du Plessis, David Miller, Albie Morkel, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Imran Tahir.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Brendon McCullum, Ross Taylor, Colin Munro, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Kyle Mills, Mitchell McClenaghan.

Update hourly