Related topics

National League 8, American League 3

July 13, 1989

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) _ Mark Lemke and Scotti Madison each drove in two runs during a five-run fifth inning Wednesday night as a team of National League affiliates defeated their American League counterparts 8-3 in the second Triple-A All-Star game.

With the NL leading 2-1, Jeff Huson of Indianapolis singled to left off pitcher Adam Peterson of Vancouver. Indianapolis’ Junior Noboa followed with a double to right-center, sending Huson to third. Lemke then singled to right, scoring both runners and giving the NL a 4-1 lead. Carl Nichols of Tucson followed with a single moving Lemke to second.

Pawtucket’s Tom Bolton replaced Peterson and struck out Tidewater’s Tom O’Malley for the inning’s second out. Then Madison doubled, scoring Lemke and Nichols, who was safe on a play at the plate. Madison, who took third on the throw to the plate, scored on a wild pitch by Bolton to give the NL a 7-1 lead.

The AL scored two runs in the seventh inning. With one out, Brian Dorsett of the host Columbus Clippers hit a home run to left. Columbus’ Randy Velarde then tapped the ball in front of the plate, but Las Vegas catcher Sandy Alomar threw wildly to first, allowing Velarde to take second. Pete Coachman of Edmonton then hit a bloop single to center, scoring Velarde.

Alomar hit a ninth-inning homer over the centerfield fence off Bryan Clark of Tacoma to end the scoring.

The NL scored its first run in the second without a hit.

Louisville’s Todd Zeile led off with a walk off Vancouver’s Tom Drees, a Chicago White Sox prospect who threw back-to-back no-hitters earlier this season.

Drees then walked O’Malley and Madison hit a ball back to Drees, who threw out O’Malley at second but first baseman Hal Morris of Columbus couldn’t handle the relay throw and Zeile scored on the error. The AL tied the game in the third on a leadoff home run by Oklahoma City’s Scott Coolbaugh.

O’Malley singled to drive in Lemke in the third ining off losing pitcher Mike Trujillo of Toledo, giving the NL a 2-1 lead they never lost.

NL starter Ramon Martinez of Albuquerque was the winning pitcher, allowing one run in three innings.

A crowd of 14,131 watched the NL stars even the series. The AL won the inaugural event 2-1 last year at Buffalo, N.Y.

Update hourly