Commissioners to hear from interim commissioner applicants

August 19, 2018

The Douglas County Board of Commissioners will meet with the seven applicants for interim Douglas County commissioner Monday evening.

The meeting will be from 6 to 8 p.m. Monday in Room 216 of the Douglas County Courthouse, 1036 SE Douglas Ave., Roseburg. Each applicant will have 10 minutes to both respond to prepared questions and make additional comments. The meeting is open to the public, but members of the public will not have the opportunity to question the applicants.

The commissioners are expected to announce finalists Aug. 29. Finalists will subsequently be interviewed, and the selection of one applicant to fill the seat is expected to be completed by Sept. 19. The selection will be made by Commissioners Tim Freeman and Chris Boice.

The appointed interim commissioner will fill the seat vacated by Gary Leif, who is now interim representative for House District 2. The interim commissioner will serve until the end of the year. The winner of the November election will take over the seat in January.

The applicants for interim commissioner are Richard Vander Velden, Daniel Loomis, Tim Allen, Steven Blum, Christine Goodwin, Ashley Hicks and John Hunter.

Three of those — Hicks, Vander Velden and Loomis — are also candidates who will appear on the November ballot. Candidates on the ballot in November who did not apply for interim commissioner include Tom Kress, Alek Skarlatos, Jeremy Salter, James Hoyt and Alyssa McConnel.

Update hourly