Keystone College Collects Awards

May 7, 2019

Keystone College came away with two major awards on the Colonial States

Athletic Conference baseball all-star teams.

Senior infielder Chris Panzarella was named Player of the Year and sophomore Nathan Hinkley was chosen Pitcher of the Year.

Panzarella leads Keystone in batting (.417) and hits (53). He also has 37 runs, 21 RBIs and is 22 for 23 in stolen bases. He also is the Giants’ representative on the CSAC Sportsmanship Team.

Hinkley is the ninth straight Keystone hurler to claim Pitcher of the Year honors. He is 3-1 with a

3.48 earned-run average and

36 strikeouts.

Joining Panzarella and Hinkley as first-team

all-stars are junior infielder and Abington Heights graduate Nick Carlini; senior DH Dakota McFadden; senior outfielder Mohammed Hussein; and junior relief pitcher Ramon Disla.

Second-team selections include senior infielder Johann Paniagua; freshman outfielder Devin Reed; and junior pitcher Jared Rowley. Junior catcher Ryan Callahan earned honorable mention.

Clarks Summit University had sophomore catcher Ryan Clark earn a first-team all-star berth. Junior relief pitcher Kegan Laman was a second-team selection. Junior Andreas Bailey is its representative on the CSAC Sportsmanship Team. The Defenders also received the 3-D Award for the second straight year. It recognizes teams that best demonstrate the NCAA Division III philosophy of “Discover, Develop, Dedicate.”

Keystone 17, St. John Fisher 8

At La Plume, the top three batters in the order had eight hits, eight runs and 11 RBIs as Keystone College rolled

to a nonleague win over

St. John Fisher College.

Dakota McFadden had three hits, including a pair of home runs, and four RBIs out of the third spot for the Giants (23-13). Keystone led, 6-4, after three innings, but scored nine runs over the next three innings to pull away.

Mohammed Hussein had two hits, including a double, two runs and four RBIs for Keystone and Joe Fichera had three hits, four runs and three RBIs.


Lackawanna College fell to the County College of Morris, 6-2, in the NJCAA Region 19 championship.

The Lady Falcons advanced to the title game with a 5-2 win over Delaware Tech. Mid Valley graduate Mia Pawelski threw a two-hitter with five strikeouts to earn the win for Lackawanna and Gabrielle Vuocolo had two hits, including a double, and two RBIs.

In the championship game, Morris scored two runs in the first and pulled away with two more runs in the sixth. Pawelski drove in both runs for Lackawanna with an RBI single and a solo home run.

■ Marywood University had two first-team selections on the inaugural Atlantic East Conference softball

all-star team.

Junior outfielder Kaitlyn Epler and senior pitcher Kirstie Alvarez were chosen from the Pacers. Epler led the team in batting (.432) and hits (57) and had 17 RBIs in

41 games. Alvarez was

11-10 with a 3.39 ERA and

79 strikeouts in 138⅓ innings.

■ After capturing the Landmark Conference championship, the University of Scranton will play in the NCAA Division III tournament for the first time since 1983. The Royals (32-13) draw top-ranked and two-time defending national champion Virginia Wesleyan (41-4) in their regional round opener Friday at 4:30 p.m. in Virginia Beach, Virginia.

Lynchburg (32-12) and Manhattanville (40-2) are also part of the regional.

Contact the writer:

sports@timesshamrock.com; 570-348-9125;

@sportsTT on Twitter