Related topics

National Headliner Awards Winners, By Category

April 2, 1996

ATLANTIC CITY, N.J. (AP) _ Winners of the 1996 National Headliners Awards, given by The Press Club of Atlantic City:


Spot News Reporting, Circulation Under 50,000:

First Place _ The Mercury of Pottstown, Pa., for ``Superfund Fraud,″ by Bob Montgomery and Carl Hessler Jr.

Second Place _ Virgin Islands Daily News, St. Thomas, for ``Textbook for Violence,″ by Melvin Claxton, Steve Rockstein and J. Lowe Davis;

Third Place _ The Mercury of Pottstown, Pa., for ``The Hating Game,″ by John McNally and Donna Heron.

Spot News Reporting, Circulation Between 50,000 and 150,000:

First Place _ Anchorage (Alaska) Daily News for ``The New Alaska,″ by Kim Fararo;

Second Place _ The Sun of San Bernardino, Calif., for ``A Place to Live and Die,″ by Mark Muckenfuss;

Third Place _ The Knoxville (Tenn.) News-Sentinel for ``Promises Made,″ by John North, Randy Kenner and Heather Stone.

Spot News Reporting, Circulation Over 150,000:

First Place _ Los Angeles Times for the O.J. Simpson verdict;

Second Place _ The Daily Oklahoman of Oklahoma City, Okla., for Oklahoma City Bombing;

Third Place _ The Tennessean of Nashville, Tenn., ``Coming Home,‴ by Tini Tran.

Local Interest Column On A Variety of Subjects:

First Place _ Gregory Kane, The Sun of Baltimore;

Second Place _ Joanne Jacobs, San Jose (Calif.) Mercury News;

Third Place _ Nicole Brodeur, The News & Observer, Raleigh, N.C.

Special or Feature Column on One Subject:

First Place _ Leonard Pitts, The Miami Herald;

Second Place _ Ana Veciana-Suarez, The Miami Herald;

Third Place _ Doug Kim, Contra Costa Times of Walnut Creek, Calif.

Editorial Cartoons:

First Place _ Jimmy Margulies, The Record of Hackensack, N.J.;

Second Place _ Michael Ramirez, The Commercial Appeal of Memphis, Tenn.; Tom Toles, The Buffalo (N.Y.) News.

Editorial Writing by an Individual:

First Place _ Maria Henson, The Charlotte (N.C.) Observer;

Second Place _ Tom Dennis, The Times Leader of Wilkes-Barre, Pa.;

Third Place _ John P. Young, Waco (Texas) Tribune-Herald.

Sports Writing or Sports Column by an Individual:

First Place _ Bill Plaschke, Los Angeles Times;

Second Place _ Dan LeBatard, The Miami Herald;

Third Place _ Rick Morrissey, Rocky Mountain News, Denver, Colo.

Feature Writing on a Variety of Subjects:

First Place _ Ken Fuson, Des Moines (Iowa) Register;

Second Place _ Mitch Albom, The Detroit News and Free Press;

Third Place _ Tom Hallman Jr., The Oregonian, Portland, Ore.

Investigative Reporting:

First Place _ The Orange County Register, Santa Ana, Calif., for ``Fertility Fraud,″ by Susan Kelleher, Kim Christensen, Michelle Nicolosi;

Second Place _ The Times-Picayune of New Orleans for ``Medical Fraud,″ by Chris Adams;

Third Place _ The Wall Street Journal, New York, for ``New Era Fraud,″ by Steve Stecklow.

Public Service:

First Place _ The News & Observer, Raleigh, N.C., for ``North Carolina’s Pork Revolution,″ by Pat Stith and Joby Warrick;

Second Place _ St. Petersburg (Fla.) Times for ``A Dangerous Age,″ by Carol A. Marbin and Stephen Nohlgren;

Third Place _ The Miami Herald, ``1995 Criminal Court Series,″ by Jeff Leen, Lisa Getter and Dan Van Natta Jr.


Update hourly