Related topics

Pakistan bats first against Sri Lanka in final

March 8, 2014

MIRPUR, Bangladesh (AP) — Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq won the toss and decided to bat first against Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup final on Saturday.

Big-hitting allrounder Shahid Afridi passed a fitness test after a hip strain had put him in doubt for the match.

Pakistan made two changes to its side, bringing in Sharjeel Khan and Junaid Khan with Sohaib Maqsood and Abdul Rehman out.

Sri Lanka replaced experienced spinner Ajantha Mendis with pace bowler Lasith Malinga, who had been rested for the previous game.

Sri Lanka remained unbeaten through the league stage of the five-team tournament.

Pakistan’s only loss had been to Sri Lanka by 12 runs but won its remaining three matches including two thrilling last-over victories over India and Bangladesh.



Pakistan: Sharjeel Khan, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Talha, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Junaid Khan.

Sri Lanka: Kusal Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jaywardene, Ashan Priyanjan, Angelo Mathews (captain), Chaturanga de Silva, Thisara Perera, Sachitra Senanayake, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga.

Update hourly