Related topics

Scripps Howard Foundation Announces Award Winners

March 5, 1991

CINCINNATI (AP) _ Staff members from nine newspapers, two television stations and two radio stations are winners of the Scripps Howard Foundation’s 1990 national journalism awards, the foundation announced.

The awards, announced Monday, are given in 13 categories of print and broadcast journalism ranging from First Amendment issues and human interest writing to public service. The Scripps Howard Foundation plans to recognize the winners and award more than $33,500 in prizes at a Cincinnati banquet on April 3.

Elizabeth Leland, of The Charlotte (N.C.) Observer, won the Ernie Pyle Award and a $2,500 prize for human interest writing for a portfolio of stories.

Lanny Keller, of the Shreveport (La.) Journal, won the Walker Stone Award and a $2,000 prize for editorial writing. Keller’s topics included constitutional rights and the Senate campaign of former Ku Klux Klan leader David Duke.

A team from The Orlando (Fla.) Sentinel won an Edward J. Meeman Award and a $2,000 prize for environmental reporting, in the more than 100,000 circulation category. The Sentinel’s project covered hazards threatening the manatee and the Everglades, and an examination of dolphins in captivity.

The Alabama Journal won a Meeman award and $2,000 for environmental reporting in the fewer than 100,000 category. The Montgomery newspaper reviewed environmental damage to Alabama’s rivers, relationships between Alabama state agencies and industrial polluters, and delays in postings of state warnings about toxin-tainted fish.

The Boston Globe won a Roy W. Howard Award and a $2,500 prize for public service reporting in the more than 100,000 circulation category, for a series by several reporters on the Massachusetts judiciary.

The Tucson (Ariz.) Citizen won a Howard award and $2,500 for public service in the under-100,000 category for reporter Tom Shields’ series on air traffic dangers over the Grand Canyon.

The Corpus Christi (Texas) Caller-Times won an Edward Willis Scripps Award and $2,500 for service to the First Amendment. A reporter at the newspaper, Libby Averyt, was jailed for 48 hours after refusing to testify about unpublished statements a murder defendant had made to her about his alleged role in a 1983 slaying.

The Knoxville (Tenn.) News-Sentinel won a Charles E. Scripps Award and $2,500 for service in support of literacy. The newspaper will designate a literacy program in the community to receive a $5,000 grant from the Scripps Howard Foundation. The Knoxville newspaper committed news and advertising space to promote literacy.

Kerry Soper of The Utah Statesman at Utah State University won a Charles Schulz Award and $2,000 as the best college cartoonist.

WKSU-FM, of Kent, Ohio, won a Jack R. Howard Award and $2,000 for excellence in the small-market radio category for Mark Urycki’s 20th- anniversary program reviewing the May 4, 1970, student shootings during an anti-war protest at Kent State University.

WCBS-AM, New York City, won a Jack Howard award and $2,000 for excellence in the large-market category for Art Athens’ 10-part series on how conditions in some office buildings were making employees there ill.

KVUE-TV, of Austin, Texas, won a Jack Howard award and $2,000 for excellence in the small-market television category for a series that analyzed the claims made in political advertising campaigns.

KCNC-TV, Denver, won a Jack Howard award and $2,000 for excellence in the large-market television category for a series written and produced by Vicki Hildner and photographed by Dan Fox that examined the recovery prospects of a dozen patients in the University of Colorado’s residential drug treatment program.

The Scripps Howard Foundation, dedicated to the advancement of journalism through education, was established in 1962 by Scripps Howard, the Cincinnati- based media company with interests in newspaper publishing, broadcasting, cable television and syndication.

Update hourly