Another 700 Skagit County ballots counted

November 20, 2018

MOUNT VERNON — The Skagit County Elections Department counted about 700 ballots Monday, moving it closer to certifying the results of the Nov. 6 general election.

The department has counted 54,667 ballots, leaving it with an estimated 700 left to count before certification on Nov. 27.

Turnout has been high for the mid-term election, with participation at 72 percent of registered voters as ballots remain to be counted.

All the races on the county ballot remain unchanged since the first totals were released on election night.

The closest race continues to be for a state House seat in the 10th Legislative District.

Through 4 p.m. Monday, Democrat Dave Paul leads Republican Dave Hayes by 568 votes for Hayes’ House seat.

The 10th Legislative District includes Island County, southwest Skagit County and northwest Snohomish County.

Through the three counties, Paul has 36,118 votes and Hayes 35,550.

In county races, Sandy Perkins leads Mike Urban by 5,576 votes for county auditor, Jackie Brunson is 6,704 votes ahead of Bradley Whaley for county treasurer, Laura Riquelme leads Rosemary Kaholokula by 3,746 votes for Superior Court judge, and Joe Lindquist leads Robbie Robertson by 15,077 votes for Skagit Public Utility District commissioner.

The county charter measure is failing by 16,760 votes, the sales tax increase to fund the Anacortes Transportation Benefit District is passing by 1,675, and the Sedro-Woolley school bond has 5,607 no votes and 5,528 yes votes.

The bond, which has been approved by about 50 percent of voters in the school district, requires 60 percent approval to pass.

In other state Legislature races, leaders in contested races are Norma Smith (10th District, House), Keith Wagoner (39th District, Senate), Robert J. Sutherland (39th District, House), Carolyn Eslick (39th District, House) and Debra Lekanoff (40th District, House).

Cecily Hazelrigg-Hernandez continues to lead Tom SeGuine for a judge seat on the state Court of Appeals, while national legislative leaders remain the three incumbents — Maria Cantwell (Senate), Suzan DelBene (House, District 1) and Rick Larsen (House, District 2).

The Elections Department will release updated totals Wednesday.

Update hourly