Johnson, Stronach Will Face Challenge

February 21, 2019

TEWKSBURY -- Contested races for Board of Selectmen and School Committee will top the April 6 town election ballot.

Incumbent selectmen Todd Johnson and Anne Marie Stronach will be challenged by Town Moderator Jayne Wellman Miller, who also has served on the School Committee.

For School Committee, members Arati “Arthy” Bennett or Kristen Polimeno are not seeking re-election. Three candidates are seeking one of the two, three-year seats: Erin Knyff, John Stadtman and Shannon Demos.

With their terms expiring on the Board of Health, sitting members George Ferdinand and Anthony Boschetti are running for re-election against challengers Kylee Perrotta and Maria Zaroulis.

The races for Tewksbury’s other boards and committees, including Planning Board, Housing Authority, Board of Library Trustees and Shawsheen Valley Technical High School Committee, are all uncontested.

Running unopposed are:

* Library Trustees Joseph Frank and Laura Harrington, for two, three-year terms.

* Shawsheen Valley Technical High School Committee incumbent Patricia Meuse, for a three-year term.

* Planning Board member Vincent Fratalia, for an five-year term.

* Housing Authority candidate John Deputat, for an five-year term. Incumbent Louise Gearty is not seeking re-election.