Related topics

Nine Share Prize for Young Scientists

October 19, 1989

BRUSSELS, Belgium (AP) _ Nine young scientists from six European nations won prizes in a European Community contest designed to encourage scientific research among young people.

The winners were selected from a total of 53 finalists who had already won national contests in the 12 European Community member states, as well as Austria, Norway and Switzerland.

The scientists, aged 16 to 21, each were awarded a scholarship worth about $5,550. The 11 runners-up won scholarships worth $3,330.

Among the winning entries was an ″eyewriter″ invented by Mogen Markussen, 20, of Denmark, which allows a paralyzed person to use a typewriter with an eye-operated control unit.

Jean-Pierre Wyss and Matthias Zimmerman, both 20, and Elmar Artho, 16, all of Switzerland, won for their work on computer recognition of handwritten signs.

Nicola Kirk, 18, of Britain, won for her work on a walking aid for the disabled that allows people to support themselves by pushing a hand bar along chest-high tracks set into the walls of their home or hospital.

Lina Tomasella, 21, of Italy, won her award for discovering that color dyes used to trace water sources are toxic to microbes.

Stephan Schlitter, 19, of West Germany, discovered that certain materials used to make plastics can also be used as a conducting element in batteries.

Grace O’Connor, 16, and Sinead Finn, 17, both from Ireland, won their scholarships for harvesting proteins and ethanol from grass.

Update hourly