Related topics

Sport Shorts

October 30, 1988

TOKYO (AP) _ The U.S. men’s national volleyball team, which won the gold medal at the last month’s Seoul Olympics, beat the Argentine national team 15-6, 15-10, 15-7 Sunday in the four-nation Japan Cup special volleyball tournament.

It was the American team’s second victory against no defeats in the round- robin tournament. Argentina, which took the bronze medal in Seoul, is 1-1.

American Steve Timmons had six spike points, while teammates Bob Ctvrtlik and Karch Kiraly each had four.

In the second game, the Soviet Union, the silver medalist in Seoul, beat Japan 15-2, 15-0, 15-13 to even its record at 1-1. Japan, which finished 10th in the Olympic competition, is 0-2.

On Monday, the U.S. team meets Japan and the Soviet Union plays Argentina.


TOKYO (AP) - Taiwanese relief pitcher Kuo Yuan-tzu of the Chunichi Dragons was named the Most Valuble Player of the Central League for 1988 Sunday and slugger Hiromitsu Kadota of the Nankai Hawks was named MVP of the Pacific League.

Kuo, 32, a right-handed fastball hurler, had 37 saves to help the Dragons clinch the league pennant for the first time in six years. He chalked up a 1.95 earned-run average and a 7-6 record during the regular season.

Baseball sports writers gave him 227 of 239 votes for the Central League’s MVP award.

It was the first time since 1985 that a foreign player has won an MVP award. Hanshin Tigers slugger Randy Bass, formerly with the Texas Rangers, won the award in 1985.

The 40-year-old Kadota led the Pacific League with 44 home runs. He collected 189 MVP votes. Kadota had 125 runs batted in, most in the league, and he he hit .310, sixth best in the league.

Rookies of the year were 25-year-old Ryoji Moriyama of the Japan Series champion Seibu Lions in the Pacific League and 19-year-old shortstop Kazuyoshi Tatsunami of the Dragons in the Central League.

Moriyama had a 10-9 won-lost record and a 3.46 ERA. Tatsunami batted .223 and drove in 18 runs with four home runs.


MELBOURNE, Australia (AP) - Paraguay scored a 2-1 victory over defending champion Brazil in the final of the World Indoor Soccer Championships at the Melbourne Sports and Entertainment Center Sunday.

In becoming the new world champions, Paraguay ended Brazil’s string of over 920 international matches without defeat, accumulated since the inception of indoor soccer in 1957.

Paraguay, third in the 1985 World Championship in Spain, played its most impressive soccer of the tournament.

Spain defeated arch-rival Portugal 5-1 in an earlier playoff for third place in the tournament, which was promoted by the sport’s international governing body, FIFUSA.


NEW DELHI, India (AP) - Organizers of the ninth Himalayan Car Rally on Sunday upheld a protest by Japanese driver Kenjiro Shinozuka and declared him the winner of the 1,856-mile event, news reports said.

Shinozuka, who drove a Mitsubishi Galant, finished fourth in the preliminary standings on Saturday, the last day of the six-day rally, the United News of India news agency said.

But he filed a complaint, claiming his arrival at a checkpoint in the state of Himachal Pradesh on Friday was erroneously timed by an official.

The wrong timing cost the Japanese 100 penalty points, dropping him to fourth place. Shinozuka, the defending champion, earlier had led through most of the seven-leg rally.

Belgian Flory Roothaert, who was declared the provisional winner on Saturday, has been named runner-up and Turane Tchine of Monaco placed third.

The rally was recognized this year as one of the five events that make up the Asia-Pacific Championship.


FRANKFURT, West Germany (AP) - Jos Sasse of Holland and Grete Kirkeberg of Norway won the Frankfurt marathon Sunday.

In the men’s competition, Sasse finished the 26.2-mile course in a time of 2 hours, 13 minutes and 15 seconds. Kirkeberg was timed in 2:35:44.

Sasse took over the lead in the final stages, beating out West Germany’s Martin Gruening, who had led for much of the race.

The West German finished second with a time of 2:13:46 and Ieuan Ellis of Wales was third in 2:14:05.

Kirkeberg dominated the women’s competition. Last year’s winner, West Germany’s Annabel Holtkamp, settled for second place with a time of 2:37:25. Monica Regonesi of Chile finished third with 2:40:28.

In all, 5,573 runners took part in the marathon.

Update hourly