Related topics

Wuerffel, Davis, Plummer, Pace attending Heisman ceremony

December 11, 1996

NEW YORK (AP) _ The Heisman Trophy is down to its final four.

And the contenders are Florida quarterback Danny Wuerffel, Iowa State running back Troy Davis, Ohio State offensive lineman Orlando Pace and Arizona State quarterback Jake Plummer.

The Downtown Athletic Club, which awards the Heisman to college football’s outstanding player, said Wednesday just four players would attend Saturday night’s presentation. Earlier, the DAC said it expected five players to be invited.

Wuerffel completed 207-of-360 passes for 3,625 yards and 39 touchdowns for the third-ranked Gators, including six in Saturday’s 45-30 win over Alabama in the SEC title game.

Plummer, who led the No. 2 Sun Devils (11-0) to a perfect season and Rose Bowl berth, was 179-of-313 for 2,575 yards and 23 TDs.

Davis became the first player in NCAA history to compile two 2,000-yard rushing seasons. He led the nation with 2,185 yards on 402 carries.

Pace, 6-foot-6 and 330 pounds, won his second straight Lombardi Award last week as the nation’s top lineman.

The Heisman Trophy will be presented at the conclusion of an hour-long ESPN telecast beginning at 7:30 p.m. EST.

Update hourly