CRUHSD names two finalists for superintendent

March 20, 2019

BULLHEAD CITY — Todd Flora and Timothy Mayclin emerged Tuesday night as the two finalists for the position of superintendent of the Colorado River Union High School District.

Flora, educational program specialist with the Arizona Department of Education, and Mayclin, superintendent of the Kimball, South Dakota, school system, were among five candidates interviewed by the CRUHSD board Monday and Tuesday. They will be back in Bullhead City next week for more interviews Monday and Tuesday as the district moves closer to finding a replacement for Supt. Benje Hookstra, who is retiring at the end of the school year.

“We had five excellent candidates,” said Board President Lori Crampton in an open meeting late Tuesday following the final two interviews. She said the effort to narrow the field to two was difficult.

In the end, the board voted 5-0 to identify Flora and Mayclin as the finalists and to bring both back for next week’s tours and interviews.

On the schedule for Monday is a district/community tour, a meeting with district office staff, a meeting with a 15-member community leader advisory committee and a meeting with community members at large. The community meetings likely will take place at Mohave High School in Bullhead City.

On Tuesday, a tour of district facilities and meeting with principals will be followed by lunch with senior district administrative staff. Another community stakeholder meeting will take place, likely at River Valley High School in Mohave Valley, before each candidate goes through another interview with board members.

Times of specific meetings were being finalized late Tuesday night and are expected to be announced today.

Names of the other three semifinalists were not made public. The board had narrowed the field from 12 to six although one of the semifinalists withdrew from consideration before this week’s interviews were completed.

The board, guided by Steve Highlen, executive search and senior policy consultant with the Arizona School Boards Association, developed the schedule to allow for community interaction and input.

The district approved the 15-member community leader advisory committee, put together by district Public Information Officer Lance Ross based on nominations from board members.

Members of the committee are:

Medhi Azarmi, of Fairway Constructors, a member of the Mohave County Planning and Zoning Commission and chairman of the Bullhead Area Chamber of Commerce board;Bullhead City Manager Toby Cotter;Mohave Valley Elementary School District Supt. Whitney Crow;Carolyn Hamblin, Bullhead City campus dean for Mohave Community College;Benje Hookstra, the current CRUHSD superintendent;Ardie Lauxman, chief financial officer of Mohave Electric Cooperative and chairman of the Western Arizona Regional Medical Center board of trustees;Nancy Mongeau, vice president of the BHHS Legacy Foundation;John Pynakker, president and CEO of the Bullhead Area Chamber of Commerce;Maria Salamatin, an internal medicine physician with a practice in Bullhead City;Chip Sherrill, of Sherrill Family Farms and a member of the Mohave Valley Irrigation and Drainage District;Lois Wakimoto, former Mohave County supervisor and a small-business owner;John Warren, superintendent of Topock Elementary School District;Emma Jean Watson, of Pioneer Land and Realty;Tim Williams, chairman of the Fort Mojave Indian Tribe; andWaheed Zehri, internal medicine physician and chief of staff at Western Arizona Regional Medical Center.