AP NEWS
Related topics

BC-AP--World-Cup-Digest, AP

June 17, 2014

The AP World Cup Digest at 10 a.m. EDT (1400 GMT). The supervisor of the World Cup desk in Rio de Janeiro is Simon Haydon. The desk can be reached at 0055 21 348 264 84.

TOP STORIES:

WCUP-BRAZIL-MEXICO

FORTALEZA, Brazil — Brazil faces old rival Mexico on Tuesday, aiming to move closer to a place in the second round of its home World Cup. Mexico also won in its opening match and is hoping an upset win against the hosts will secure El Tri in the next stage. By Tales Azzoni. UPCOMING: 750 words, photos by 5 p.m. EDT/2100 GMT.

WCUP-BELGIUM-ALGERIA

BELO HORIZONTE, Brazil — Belgium returns to its first World Cup in 12 years with a strong attacking lineup, seeking to stifle a resurgent Algeria lineup in their Group H opener. By Frank Griffiths. UPCOMING: 500 words, photos by 2 p.m. EDT/1800 GMT.

WCUP-RUSSIA-SOUTH KOREA

CUIABA, Brazil — With Belgium the big favorite in Group H, Russia and South Korea seemingly are fighting for second place when they begin their World Cup campaigns with a meeting in Cuiaba. By Steve Douglas. UPCOMING: 650 words by 8 p.m. EDT/0000 GMT.

NEW/DEVELOPING

WCUP-URUGUAY-ENGLAND

RIO DE JANEIRO — It will be a tale of two strikers when Uruguay and England meet at the World Cup on Thursday: Luis Suarez, returning from injury for Uruguay, and Wayne Rooney, under pressure to finally score on football’s biggest stage. And they have to deliver, with the Group D rivals meeting after making losing starts in Brazil. By Rob Harris. UPCOMING: 600 words, photos, by 4 p.m. EDT/2000 GMT.

WCUP-COLOMBIA-IVORY COAST

BRASILIA, Brazil —As two of world football’s underachieving nations, Ivory Coast and Colombia will be desperate not to let slip a rare chance to qualify for the knockout stages of the World Cup when they meet in Brasilia on Thursday. By Steve Douglas. SENT: 554 words, photos.

WCUP-JAPAN-GREECE

NATAL, Brazil — Greece barged though World Cup qualifying with a rock-solid defense that conceded only four goals to earn a trip to Brazil. That all changed once they got here, giving up three in a loss to Colombia that set up a must-win game against Japan in Group C on Thursday. By Jim Vertuno. SENT: 500 words, photos.

WCUP-THE DIVE DEBATE

SAO PAULO — Fred denies he made a dive in the Brazil opener that led to a controversial, go-ahead penalty kick. France’s Loic Remy considers the move a disgrace, and has called for punishment. The debate over diving began on Day 1 of this World Cup, and it has people everywhere talking about whether it’s simply part of the game or bad for the sport altogether. Coaches at all levels, players young and old, have some concerns about the example being set. By Janie McCauley. UPCOMING: 700 words, photos by 4 p.m. EDT/2000 GMT.

WCUP-PARKING THE BUS

CURITIBA, Brazil — In a World Cup that’s been high on attacking intent, the draw between Iran and Nigeria on Monday stuck out. lran has been condemned for its defensive approach. But playing defensively is a legitimate strategy and been adopted by great teams in the past. By Pan Pylas. UPCOMING: 500 words by 4 p.m. EDT/2000 GMT.

WCUP-JAPANESE BRAZILIANS

SAO PAULO — The sumo wrestler brothers send up belly laughs from behind the counter of their hole-in-the wall bar in the Asian-flavored Liberdade district. Next to woodblock prints of Japan’s quintessential sport hang green-and-yellow Brazilian flags, and the raucous babble of conversation tosses up sprays of Japanese and Portuguese. William Takahiro Higuchi and Wagner Yoshihiro Higuchi, second-generation Japanese-Brazilians who teach sumo by day, keep the atmosphere hopping at Bar Kintaro with rivers of sake and caipirinhas — Brazil’s national drink. By Joji Sakurai. SENT: 1276 words, photos.

WCUP-MEXICO-BLIND SOCCER-PHOTO ESSAY

MEXICO CITY — As nations from around the globe battle in the World Cup, a more unusual soccer championship has just been decided on a hard court in Mexico’s capital. For 18 years, the men of the Ignacio Trigueros Soccer League for the Blind and Visually Impaired have spent Sundays traveling long distances from their homes to central Mexico City to play the country’s most popular sport. By Rebecca Blackwell. SENT: 491 words, photos.

WCUP-AMAZON RIVER TRIP

MANAUS, Brazil — Light plays off the Solimoes River, duplicating the verdant canopy of the Amazon rainforest on the water’s surface. The landscape that glides by the Almirante Barbosa is breathtaking, but almost no one aboard the boat pays attention. Nearly all the passengers doze in dozens of hammocks strung from the boat’s rafters, lulled to sleep by the rocking motion, the motor’s chugging, and the tropical swelter. By Jenny Barchfield. SENT. 676 words, photos.

WCUP-NETHERLANDS

PORTO ALEGRE, Brazil — Louis van Gaal discusses plans for Group B leader Netherlands’ match against Australia. By Mike Corder. UPCOMING: 400 words by 6 p.m. EDT/2200 GMT.

WCUP-SPAIN

RIO DE JANEIRO —Spain coach Vicente del Bosque and players address the must-win Group B match against Chile at the Maracana, as the World Cup champions bid to rebound from the 5-1 loss to the Netherlands. By Paul Logothetis. UPCOMING 400 words by 3 p.m. EDT/1900 GMT. Photos

WCUP-CAMEROON

MANAUS, Brazil — Cameroon practices at the Arena da Amazonia ahead of its Group A match against Croatia. By Chris Lehourites. UPCOMING: 400 words by 7 p.m. EDT/2300 GMT.

WCUP-CROATIA

MANAUS, Brazil — Needing to rebound quickly from its opening loss to host Brazil, Croatia has one final practice to prepare for the Group A match against Cameroon. By Chris Lehourites. UPCOMING: 400 words by 11 p.m. EDT/0300 GMT

WCUP-ITALY

MANGARATIBA, Brazil — Italy midfielder Daniele De Rossi speaks about the Azzurri’s match with Costa Rica. By Andrew Dampf. UPCOMING: 400 words, photos, by 1230 p.m. EDT/1630 GMT.

WCUP-ARGENTINA

BELO HORIZONTE, Brazil — Argentina, which has four more days to prepare for its second Group F match against Iran, is holding a training session at the Cidade do Galo sports facility. By Karl Ritter. UPCOMING: 400 words by 1 p.m. EDT/1700 GMT. AP Photos.

WCUP-AUSTRALIA

PORTO ALEGRE, Brazil — Australia coach Ange Postecoglou has the difficult task of preparing his team to rebound from a disappointing loss to Chile against the Dutch, one of the form teams of the tournament. By Chris Brummitt. UPCOMING: 400 words, photos, by 1 p.m. EDT/1700 GMT.

WCUP-GERMANY

PORTO SEGURO, Brazil — After its crushing 4-0 opening victory over Portugal, Germany celebrates Thomas Mueller’s three goals. Mueller’s habit of blossoming at big events could be the key to how far Germany goes at the World Cup. By Nesha Starcevic. UPCOMING: 500 words by 5 p.m. EDT/2100 GMT.

WCUP-US-BROOKS

NATAL, Brazil — Smiling ear to ear after winning a World Cup match with his first international goal, John Brooks had a story to share. “I told some teammates that I dreamed that I scored in the 80th minute and we won the game,” he said. “And now it was the 86th minute and we won.” By Ronald Blum. SENT: 612 words, photos.

WCUP-US

NATAL, Brazil — Two hours after opening the World Cup, the United States could dream about defeating Portugal and world player of the year Cristiano Ronaldo. The Americans’ confidence is soaring from Monday’s 2-1 win over Ghana, the team that knocked them out of the last two World Cups. By Ronald Blum. SENT: 655 words, photos.

SOC--WCUP-POLICE SHOOTINGS

RIO DE JANEIRO — Two police officers who allegedly fired live rounds during an anti-World Cup protest in Rio de Janeiro are under investigation and on administrative leave, authorities said Monday. By Bradley Brooks. SENT. 350 words.

ALSO:

RIO DE JANEIRO — SOC-WCUP-WHAT-TO-WATCH.

MANAUS, Brazil — SOC-WCUP-BRAZIL BEAT.

UNDATED — SOC--WCUP-ON THIS DAY-JUNE 17. SENT.

UNDATED — SOC--WORLD CUP GLANCE.

AP RADIO
Update hourly