Related topics

Zimbabwe wins toss, puts South Africa in to bat

August 19, 2014

BULAWAYO, Zimbabwe (AP) — Zimbabwe won the toss and put South Africa in to bat in the second of three one-day internationals on Tuesday.

The home team again opted to bowl first after asking South Africa to bat in a 93-run loss in the first game.

Chasing a series victory, South Africa was unchanged at Queens Sports Club from the team that took a 1-0 lead on Sunday. Zimbabwe made two changes, bringing in opening batsman Sikandar Raza for the out-of-form Vusi Sibanda and left-arm fast bowler Brian Vitori for Shingi Masakadza.

Both teams went with two specialist spinners.

South Africa is resting its front-line pace bowling trio of Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander and Morne Morkel for the three-match series. Zimbabwe retained teenage batsman Luke Jongwe, seam bowler Neville Madziva and offspinner John Nyumbu, who all made their ODI debuts in the first game.

The southern African neighbors last met in an ODI series in 2010. South Africa has won every series between the countries.



Zimbabwe: Elton Chigumbura (captain), Sikandar Raza, Richmond Mutumbami, Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams, Luke Jongwe, Neville Madziva, Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, John Nyumbu.

South Africa: AB de Villiers (captain), Quinton de Kock, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Wayne Parnell, Kyle Abbott, Aaron Phangiso, Imran Tahir.

Update hourly