Related topics

Women’s Coaches Nominated for Fame

February 11, 1998

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. (AP) _ Jody Conradt of Texas, who has won more games than any other women’s coach, and Harley Redin, who coached Wayland Baptist to six AAU women’s championships were nominated today for the Basketball Hall of Fame.

The two coaches, proposed by a special women’s screening committee, joined 11 others nominated earlier, including Larry Bird.

To be elected, nominees must get at least 18 votes from a 24-member honors committee. Those selected will be announced June 29 with the induction ceremonies to be held in October.

Conradt, the coach at Texas since 1976, coached her 700th career victory in December. Her 1986 squad was the first undefeated women’s team to win the NCAA Division I championship.

Redin had a 431-66 record, two undefeated seasons, six national championships and a 76 game winning streak during the 18 years he coached the Flying Queens from 1955-1973.

Also nominated were Adrian Dantley, Chet Walker, Marques Haynes of the Harlem Globetrotters, Larry Costello, Artis Gilmore, Gus Johnson, and Sidney Moncrief.

Proposed as coaches among the men were Alex Hannum. John Thompson and Tex Winter.

Update hourly