Schuyler Central High School Presents Fall Activity Awards

November 15, 2018

The Schuyler Central High School Fall Activity Awards were presented in the SCHS east gymnasium on Tuesday, Nov. 7 to the outstanding athletes involved in fall sports. The evening began with the welcome by Activity Director Jim Kasik.

Presenting the cross country awards was boys head coach Rick Carter. Receiving the Myers/Reinecke/Shonka Most Outstanding Male Runner Award was state meet qualifier Cristobal Gonzalez.

The Most Improved Award went to Hugo Ramon and the Rookie of the Year Award was presented to Eduardo Carrasco. Receiving varsity letters were: Eduardo Carrasco, Miguel Carrasco (state meet qualifier), Cristobal Gonzalez (state meet qualifier), Roberto Pedro, Abner Perez, Gregorio Ramon, Hugo Ramon, Christopher Renteria, and Emmanuel Zuniga.

Receiving the Myers/Reinecke/Shonka Most Outstanding Female Runner Award was state meet qualifier Edith Oliden. Receiving the Most Improved Award was Ashley Hernandez.

Marisol Deanda received the Rookie of the Year Award. Receiving varsity letters were: Marisol Deanda, Melissa Escobar, Ashley Hernandez, Iliana Hernandez, Astrid Mejia, Edith Oliden (state meet qualifier), and Yessica Rodriguez.

Presenting the volleyball awards was head coach Jenna Saalfeld. Receiving the Most Improved Player Award was Kayli Vavricek while Maria Semerad was named Defensive Player of the Year and Rachel Shonka was tabbed as Offensive Player of the Year.

Semerad, Shonka, and Kinzie Petersen were all named to the All-Central Conference Honorable Mention team. Receiving varsity letters were: Reagan Folda, Cassie Macholan, Kinzie Petersen, Stefany Rocha, Anna Rocheford, Maria Semerad, Rachel Shonka, Kayli Vavricek, Taylor Westerbuhr, Tamara Witzel, and Tasha Wolken.

Presenting the football awards was head coach Aaron Thumann. Senior Jesus Maganda received the Myers/Reinecke/Shonka Offensive Player of the Year Award with Travis Marxsen receiving the Defensive Player of the Year Award, Emmanuel Rocha receiving the Interior Lineman of the Year Award and Axel Soto receiving the Most Improved Player of the Year Award.

Receiving varsity letters were: Felix Cruz, Rosel Diaz, Mario Encarnacion, Kevin Escobar, Adrian Francisco, Yair Garcia, Nolan Healy, Daniel Jerez, Merrick Kort, Jaime Lira, Olvin Lopez, Jesus Maganda, Travis Marxsen, Melvin Pineda, Casey Ramirez, Landen Reyes, Cody Rice, Donny Rice, Alexis Robles, Emmanuel Rocha, Kevin Rodriguez, Elder Romero, Axel Soto, Gabriel Vargas, Caden Yrkoski, and Adrian Zamudio.

Presenting the softball awards was head coach Scott Anderson. Receiving the Outstanding Softball Player Award was Jaiden Inselman.

Jaiden Sock received the Outstanding Offensive Player Award and Britney Nevarez received the Outstanding Defensive Player Award. Jaiden Sock and Jaiden Inselman were also named to the Central Conference Honorable Mention team.

Receiving varsity letters were: Carla Chacon, Leslie Dearcos, Jaiden Inselman, Jenna Jedlicka, Carly Johnson, Bailee Kovar, Lissi Martinez, Jakelin Mejia, Maria Mendez, Britney Navarez, Jaiden Sock, Guadalupe Velasquez, and Mia Wallingford.

Head Coach Kelly McClintic presented the girls golf awards. Receiving the Myers/Reinecke/Shonka Outstanding Girls Golfer Award was Ivana Lopez. Receiving varsity letters were: Ivana Lopez, Janell Lopez, Natlia Ruiz, and Esmerelda Zacarias.

Doug Phillips is a freelance writer for the Schuyler Sun. Reach him at SCHsports@lee.net

Update hourly