Related topics

Calif., Va., Minn., N.C., Mass. Teachers To Lead Conference

January 27, 1988

WASHINGTON (AP) _ The National Education Association named five teachers Wednesday to lead a conference on technology in memory of teacher-astronaut Christa McAuliffe.

The teachers will receive $5,000 apiece for designing the August conference to bring together 20 other teachers to explore creative classroom uses of technology.

The five are Merlyn Chan, a sixth-grade science teacher at Skyline Elementary School in Daly City, Calif.; Ronald Fortunato, a science teacher at Norfolk Technical Vocational School in Virginia; Jeff Holte, a sixth-grade science, social studies and communications teacher at Central Middle School in Eden Prairie, Minn.; Gail Morse, a science teacher at J.M. Alexander Junior High School in Huntersville, N.C., and Alan November, a science teacher at Wellesley Middle School in Massachusetts.

The program is sponsored by NEA’s National Foundation for the Improvement of Education as part of its Christa McAuliffe Institute.

Thursday is the second anniversary of the explosion of the space shuttle Challenger in which McAuliffe and six fellow astronauts died.

Update hourly