Nebraska volleyball players earn more awards

December 4, 2018

Players on the Nebraska volleyball team earned more awards this week.

On Tuesday the AVCA announced its all-region teams, and Nebraska’s Mikaela Foecke, Kenzie Maloney and Lauren Stivrins each made the 14-player North region team.

Those players are now eligible to be chosen for the All-American teams. The teams will be announced next week during the NCAA Tournament Final Four.

Freshman setter Nicklin Hames was an honorable mention selection.

Foecke, Maloney and Stivrins also made the all-Big Ten first team last week.

The individual awards in the North region each went to Minnesota, with setter Samantha Seliger-Swenson named player of the year, outside hitter Adanna Rollins freshman of the year and Hugh McCutcheon coach of the year.

Illinois head coach Chris Tamas is the coach of the year in the Northeast region. The former Nebraska assistant led Illinois to a second-place finish in the Big Ten in his second season.

Creighton’s Kirsten Bernthal Booth is the coach of the year in the East region.

Update hourly