AP NEWS
Related topics

BC-AP--World-Cup-Digest, AP

July 4, 2014

The AP World Cup Digest at 10 a.m. EDT (1400 GMT). The supervisor of the World Cup desk in Rio de Janeiro is Simon Haydon. The desk can be reached at 0055 21 348 264 84.

TOP STORIES:

WCUP-FRANCE-GERMANY

RIO DE JANEIRO — Germany aims to reach its fourth straight World Cup semifinal when it plays France at the Maracana Stadium. It’s only the fourth World Cup meeting between the two European powers. By Steve Douglas. UPCOMING: 650 words, photos by 3 p.m. EDT/1900 GMT.

WCUP-BRAZIL-COLOMBIA

FORTALEZA, Brazil — Brazil tries to stay on track for a World Cup title on home soil against a Colombia team that has been impressive with an upbeat style that is both thrilling and effective. Brazil striker Neymar will be dueling with Colombia playmaker James Rodriguez to try to help their teams advance from the tournament’s quarterfinals. By Tales Azzoni. UPCOMING: 700 words, photos by 6 p.m. EDT/2200 GMT.

WCUP-OVERPASS COLLAPSE

BELO HORIZONTE, Brazil — An overpass under construction collapsed Thursday in this World Cup host city, killing at least two people and trapping a commuter bus, two construction trucks and a car in an embarrassment for a country that has been basking in praise for what has mostly been a smoothly running event. By Victor R. Caivano and Adriana Gomez Licon. SENT: 569 words, photos.

NEW/DEVELOPING

WCUP-ROUNDUP

RIO DE JANEIRO — France against Germany pits two European powers with a long and dense history of rivalry, while Colombia vs. Brazil puts two young superstars in the making against each other. At stake for all four teams: just two spots in the semifinals. By John Leicester. UPCOMING: 300 words, photos by 5 p.m. EDT/2100 GMT, will be Updated.

WCUP-BELGIUM

BRASILIA — On the eve of the World Cup quarterfinal, Belgium is putting the finishing touches on all its plans to stop Argentina’s vaunted line of Di Maria, Lavezzi, Higuain and, lest anyone forget, Lionel Messi. By Raf Casert. 600 words by 5 p.m. EDT/2100 GMT.

WCUP-BELGIUM-VAN BUYTEN

BRASILIA — The old defender and Lionel Messi. Daniel Van Buyten is pushing 37 and has been written off more times than he cares to remember. Still, he needs one final effort for Belgium in the quarterfinals of the World Cup to deny the greatest player in the world. Raf Casert. 600 words. By 3 p.m. EDT/1900 GMT.

WCUP-ARGENTINA

BRASILIA, Brazil — With his team yet to completely convince critics who say it is far too reliant on Lionel Messi, Argentina coach Alejandro Sabella talks about the next test: A youthful and exuberant Belgium in the World Cup quarterfinals. By Karl Ritter. UPCOMING: 500 words. By 1.30 p.m. EDT / 1730 GMT. AP Photos

WCUP-NETHERLANDS

SALVADOR, Brazil — Netherlands coach Louis van Gaal gives his update on preparations for the World Cup quarterfinal against Costa Rica. By Mike Corder. UPCOMING: 400 words, photos by 4 p.m. EDT/2000 GMT.

WCUP-COSTA RICA

SALVADOR, Brazil — Costa Rica prepares for the big occasion, a World Cup quarterfinal against 2010 finalist Netherlands. UPCOMING: 300 words, photos by 7 p.m. EDT/2300 GMT.

WCUP-PLAYSTATION CUP

RIO DE JANEIRO — A Danish teenager has claimed the virtual World Cup by beating his English rival in the final of the online Playstation gaming competition, overcoming a field of almost two million entrants. While his nation did not make it to the real World Cup, 18-year-old August Rosenmeier did his bit for Danish pride by beating England’s David Bytheway 3-1 to win the FIFA Interactive World Cup. SENT: 530 words.

ALSO:

— UNDATED — WCUP-ON THIS DAY. SENT.

__ RIO DE JANEIRO __ WCUP-WHAT TO WATCH. UPCOMING: 500 words, by 7 p.m. EDT/2300 GMT.

__ RIO DE JANEIRO __ WCUP-BRAZIL BEAT. UPCOMING.

__ RIO DE JANEIRO __ WCUP-CAPSULES. UPCOMING: 600 words, by 8 p.m. EDT/0000 GMT.

AP RADIO
Update hourly