Boyd voter turnout strong as local races line ballot

November 7, 2018

VOTING ICON -- photo

CATLETTSBURG, Ky. — An estimated 40 percent of Boyd County voters could go to the polls on Tuesday, Nov. 6, or have already voted early, according to County Clerk Debbie Jones.

“We’ve already had 1,150 in absentees or walk-in early voters so far,” Jones said Monday.

In addition to county offices on the general election ballot, there also are Ashland Board of City Commission races and Catlettsburg City Council races, Jones said.

Polls in Boyd County will be open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesday. Anyone having a problem voting can call the clerk’s office at 606-739-5116.

Two county races gathering a lot of interest is the race for county judge-executive and county jailer. Former judge-executive William “Bud” Stevens, a Democrat, faces Eric Chaney, a Republican, in the race for a four-year term as judge-executive. Meanwhile, William Dale Hensley, a Republican and former Ashland police officer, faces Dean Akers, a Democratic candidate and former Catlettsburg officer.

Among other contested countywide races on the ballot:

n Keith Watts, a Republican, faces former Commissioner James David Salisbury II, a Democrat, for the 1st District seat as county commissioner.

n In the 3rd District county commissioner race, County Commissioner Carl W. Tolliver, a Democrat, faces Randy Stapleton, a Republican.

In the non-partisan race for a two-year term on the Ashland Board of City Commissioners, eight candidates are vying for four seats. Incumbent commissioners include Matt Perkins, Marty Gute and Amanda Clark. Other candidates include Pat Steen, Warren Howard, Chuck Williams, Rhonda Wilson and Michael A. Walters.

U.S. Rep. Thomas Massie, a Republican, faces Seth Hall, a Democrat, for a two-year seat in Congress. In some precincts, U.S. Rep. Harold “Hal” Rogers, a Republican, faces Kenneth S. Stepp, a Democrat.

In the Kentucky state Senate race, Scott L. Sharp, a Republican, faces State Sen. Robin L. Webb, a Democrat. Some county residents will vote on the 98th state House race between State Rep. Danny R. Bentley, a Republican, and R.B. McKenzie, a Democrat. Most county residents will vote in the 100th District race between Terri Branham Clark, a Democrat, and Brian Clark, a Republican.

Larry E. Thompson, faces David Allen Barber in a rate for an unexpired term of the 7th Appellate District of the Kentucky Court of Appeals.

Three candidates have filed for two four-year seats on the Ashland Independent Board of Education. They are Keith Smith, Don Ashby and David F. Latherow. Mylinda Marie Jones faces Patricia “Patsy” Lindsey for an unexpired term on the Ashland school board.

Six people will be elected to Catlettsburg Council. The candidates are, Donald G. Wellman, Tina Davenport Taylor, Roger M. Hensley, Johnny “Malcolm” Marcum, Robert “Bob” Stewart, Leo Zornes, Hark Williamson, Billy Cornette and Rex Anthony Castle.

Update hourly