Related topics

Xavier beats Villanova...Marlins’ Mesa hurt...Ramirez to sign minor league contract with Indians

February 24, 2019

CINCINNATI (AP) — Naji Marshall scored 17 points and Xavier used a big surge in the second half to rally past No. 17 Villanova 66-54. The Musketeers won their fourth straight — matching their season high — and ended their run of lopsided losses against the Wildcats. Villanova had won five in a row against Xavier. The Wildcats have three straight losses in Big East play for the first time since the conference was reconfigured.

BRADENTON, Fla. (AP) — Miami Marlins outfield prospect Victor Mesa appears to have injured his right hamstring in a spring training game against the Pittsburgh Pirates. Mesa pulled up and grabbed his hamstring while trying to beat out a ground ball in the sixth inning. He was removed from the game. The Marlins signed the Cuban native to a $5.25 million bonus last October. The 22-year-old hadn’t played in a game in nearly two years following his defection from Cuba.

GOODYEAR, Ariz. (AP) — Free agent slugger Hanley Ramirez has agreed to sign a minor league contract with the Cleveland Indians. The 35-year-old first baseman will sign with the three-time defending AL Central champions and join them in camp once he passes a physical. Ramirez played in just 44 games last season with the Boston Red Sox before he was released in May.

UNDATED (AP) — Journeyman forward Lee Stempniak is getting another shot at extending his NHL career after signing a one-year contract with the Boston Bruins. The Bruins placed the 13th-year player on waivers so he can be assigned to their AHL affiliate in Providence. The Buffalo Sabres, New York Islanders and Florida Panthers made similar moves to shore up their goalie depth.

HAMPTON, Ga. (AP) — Kyle Larson has won the first stage of today’s race at Atlanta Motor Speedway. He was the first driver off pit road following a competition caution 35 laps into the race. Kevin Harvick was second in the stage and followed by pole-sitter Aric Almirola, Kurt Busch and Martin Truex Jr.