Havasu teachers of the year recognized

May 19, 2019

Roseann Hagen was named District Educator of the Year by the Lake Havasu Unified School District. The announcement was made Thursday’s at the Chamber of Commerce mixer at the Nautical Beachfront Resort.

No one was more surprised than Hagen, who expressed momentary disbelief when Superintendent Diana Asseier made the announcement. Only minutes before, Hagen was among a group of eight teachers recognized as Educators of the Year at their respective schools.

The use of a new car for one year from Bradley was gifted to Hagen as part of her recognition package. Mudshark Brewery is also naming a menu item after her.

Hagen is a first grade teacher at Smoketree Elementary School. She joined the district in 1999. She has been developing her skills by working as a mentor teacher, lead teacher and master teacher to student teachers over the years.

Other teachers who were recognized included:

Carol Nowakowski is a sixth grade teacher at Oro Grande Elementary School. She has been with the school district in 1994 and is a graduate of Lake Havasu High School. At Oro Grande, Nowakowski also directs the Mathletes club.

Liane Stancil teaches fourth grade at Jamaica Elementary School. Stancil started in the district in 1999 and is a master teacher. She is on the Sunshine Committee, which is in charge of cheering everyone up at the school.

Lori Felish joined the school district in 1988. She teaches second grade at Starline Elementary School. Principal Corey Triassi describes Felish as a caring, compassionate, supportive and extremely accomplished teacher.

Olivia Robison is a second grade teacher at Havasupai. She started in 2016 as a teacher and is a Lake Havasu High School graduate. Her family is education-centric; her mother is a teacher and department chair at LHHS.

Trisha Konen started with the district in 1994. A sixth grade teacher at Nautilus, Konen previously taught at Thunderbolt. She is noted for her ability to connect with students and build relationships.

Jennifer Black teaches mathematics at Thunderbolt Middle School, where she has taught for the last two years. Prior to the middle school, Mrs. Black taught elementary school at Starline. She has been in our district since 2005.

Carmen Domek joined the district in 2015 and teaches vocal music and music appreciation at LHHS. Domek moved to Arizona with the intention to retire. Instead, she is again teaching music classes and works with the school’s theater department to produce an annual musical.

In addition to recognizing its top teachers, the school district also recognized its Rookie of the Year and Staff Member of the Year.

Rebekah Kent was named Rookie of the Year. Now in her third year of teaching, Kent is completing her first year with the district as a Classical Academy first grade teacher at Oro Grande. She is a Lake Havasu High School graduate.

Tammie Dutton was recognized as the Staff Member of the Year. The school nurse at Thunderbolt Middle School has served district students and families since 1996. While being the full time nurse at the middle school, Dutton has been lead nurse for the district for several years, supporting all school nurses.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press.All rights reserved.