Related topics

South Africa wins toss, will bat 1st in final ODI

November 23, 2014

SYDNEY (AP) — South Africa has won the toss and elected to bat first in the final one-day international against Australia on Sunday at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Australia has already clinched the five-match series 3-1, but can replace India as the No. 1 team in the ICC’s one-day rankings with a victory. South Africa is No. 3.

Rilee Roussouw and Morne Morkel returned to the starting XI for South Africa, while captain A.B. de Villiers and Dale Steyn were rested. Hashim Amla will captain South Africa for the match.

Australia has brought in fast bowler Josh Hazlewood to replace Nathan Coulter-Nile, who sustained a leg injury in the fourth match Friday in Melbourne which Australia won by three wickets.



Australia: George Bailey (captain), David Warner, Aaron Finch, Shane Watson, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood.

South Africa: Hashim Amla (captain), Quinton de Kock, Rilee Rossouw, Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Wayne Parnell, Ryan McLaren, Robin Peterson, Morne Morkel, Kyle Abbott.

Umpires: Nigel Llong, England, and Mick Martell, Australia.

TV umpire: Billy Bowden, New Zealand; Match referee: Javagal Srinath, India.

Series: Australia has winning 3-1 lead in five-match series.

Update hourly