Window closes for petition filing for DeKalb, Sycamore offices

December 18, 2018

The window for candidates to file petitions for local municipal, school board, park and library board offices throughout the county has closed.

Nine people filed for four open spots on the DeKalb School District 428 Board, DeKalb County Deputy Clerk Lynne Kunde said. Incumbent Fred Davis, Stephen Irving, Jeromy Olson, Samantha McDavid, Sarah Moses, December Richardson, David Seymour, Orion C. Carey and Rick Smith have filed.

Amy Doll, executive director for the DeKalb Park District, said Monday afternoon only Gail Krmenec, who will go up for a six-year term, filed for a park board position. Three seats are available on the park board: two six-year terms and a two-year term to finish out a term vacated early.

“The board would have to appoint people to fill [open spots],” Doll said Monday.

By the 5 p.m. deadline, only Tracy D. Smith had filed paperwork Monday, marking the third person in the race for alderman in DeKalb’s 3rd Ward.

Carolyn Morris, after a run for DeKalb County Clerk and Recorder last month, recently filed papers for the 1st Ward being vacated by Alderman David Jacobsen’s departure. Incumbent Anthony Faivre filed for the 7th Ward, while incumbent Kate Noreiko and Scott McAdams filed for the 5th Ward. Former city clerk and alderman Steve Kapitan, as well as Joel French filed for the 3rd Ward; they’ll be the only ones to participate in a candidate lottery on Wednesday, used to determine ballot position for those who filed simultaneously at 8:30 a.m. Dec. 10 and between 4 p.m. and 5 p.m. on Dec. 17.

The lottery will be held at 5 p.m. Wednesday in the Executive Conference room in the Municipal Building, 200 S. Fourth St. The lottery is open to the public.

Sycamore City Clerk Mary Kalk said four people total have filed since the period opened Dec. 10, when incumbent Chuck Stowe filed for the 2nd Ward alderman position, incumbent Nancy Copple filed for the 3rd Ward, Rick “Spider” Kramer for 4th Ward, and Joshua Huseman for 1st Ward. One seat for each of the city’s four wards is up for election.

Kunde said four people have filed for the Sycamore School District 427 board, as well: incumbents Vice President Stephen Nelson, Kristen Wrenn and Julenne Davey, whose terms end in April; Ryan Weckerly also filed for one of the three open positions on the board.

Dan Gibble, executive director of the Sycamore Park District, said three people had filed for the three open seats for the board of commissioners by the deadline: incumbent President William Kroeger, incumbent Daryl Graves, and Benjamin Doty.

Update hourly