Latest election results: Networks predict Democrat takeover of House; GOP retains Senate control; and more from the last 30 minutes

November 7, 2018

Major networks predict Democrats will take control of House of Representatives for first time in eight years

GOP retains Senate control for two more years, shattering Dems’ dreams of anti-Trump wave sweeping them into majority

Democrat Lauren Underwood defeats 4-term GOP Rep. Randy Hultgren in Chicago-area district

Proposition C Missouri state law change allowing medical marijuana rejected by voters

Democratic Gov. David Ige of Hawaii wins re-election, defeating Republican Andria Democratic Sen. Mazie Hirono of Hawaii wins a second term, defeating Republican Ron Curtis

Democrat Hector Balderas is re-elected as New Mexico attorney general

Democratic U.S. Rep. Bill Keating wins re-election in Massachusetts, defeating Republican businessman Peter Tedeschi

Democratic Sen. Tina Smith wins Minn. special election to finish ex-Sen. Al Franken’s term, beats GOP’s Karin Housley

Republican Andy Harris of Maryland re-elected to US House, defeating Democrat Jesse Colvin

Missouri medical marijuana Amendment 3 plan with high tax rejected by voters

Republican US Rep. Ted Budd of North Carolina re-elected to the House, defeating Democratic challenger Kathy Manning

Missouri Medical marijuana issue Amendment 2 approved by voters

Florida voters approve sweeping measure aimed at broadening crime victims’ rights

Former Phoenix Mayor Greg Stanton wins 9th District seat, beats Republican Steve Ferrera

Democrat Elaine Luria of Virginia elected to the US House, defeating Republican incumbent Scott Taylor

Florida voters reject proposal giving themselves a bigger exemption on home property taxes

Democratic Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham elected New Mexico governor, defeating Republican Rep. Steve Pearce

Ex-Congressman Evan Jenkins wins election to keep seat on West Virginia Supreme Court

New Mexico voters approve constitutional amendment, clear way for the creation of an independent ethics commission

Democratic Rep. Tim Walz elected Minnesota governor, defeating Republican Jeff Johnson and keeping party’s hold on seat

Republican Jason Smith re-elected to represent southeastern Missouri in Congress

Florida allows Legislature to make some criminal laws retroactive; throws out law banning foreign land ownership

Arizona voters approve measure banning state lawmakers from imposing taxes on business services

Missouri voters approve constitutional amendment setting out nonpartisan redistricting plan

Democratic U.S. Rep. Seth Moulton handily wins re-election in Massachusetts, defeating Republican Joseph Schneider

Arizona voters reject measure requiring utilities to get 50 pct of their electricity from renewable sources by 2030

Republican Rep. Jeff Fortenberry wins 8th term in Nebraska’s 1st Congressional District

Democratic U.S. Rep. Jim McGovern has won re-election, fending off a challenge from Republican Tracy Lovvorn

Florida voters approve constitutional amendment requiring state veterans affairs, anti-terrorism offices

Republican Rep. Kevin Cramer wins North Dakota Senate race, ousts Democratic incumbent Heidi Heitkamp

Republican Vicky Hartzler wins 5th term representing west-central Missouri in Congress

Democrats have won half of the seats they need to claim House majority; GOP picking up key Senate contests

Native American Democrat Debra Haaland beats GOP’s Janice Arnold-Jones, earns groundbreaking US House win in New Mexico

Democratic U.S. Rep. Katherine Clark cruises to re-election, defeating Republican John Hugo

Democrat Sean Casten defeats Rep. Peter Roskam to flip suburban Chicago district GOP has held for decades

Blaine Luetkemeyer elected to 6th term representing eastern Missouri district in Congress

Republican Sen. Ted Cruz of Texas defeats Democratic Rep. Beto O’Rourke

Massachusetts voters back commission to promote constitutional amendment on corporate political spending

Republican Gov. Pete Ricketts of Nebraska wins re-election, defeating Democrat Bob Krist

First-time Democratic candidate Jason Crow defeats 5-term Republican U.S. Rep. Mike Coffman in suburban Denver district

Democrat Rep. Jared Polis of Colorado elected governor, defeating Republican Walker Stapleton

Muslim woman wins Michigan congressional seat long held by John Conyers, who resigned amid sexual harassment complaints

Update hourly