Scouts recognize leadership

May 5, 2019

The Boy Scouts of America Forbes Trail District held their annual leadership recognition dinner Saturday at the Friedens Lutheran Church near Somerset.

The event is held every year to honor the efforts of leaders who prepare young people to make ethical and moral choices in their lives.

The district’s incoming officers were also approved at a meeting preceding the dinner. They are: District Chair Martin Radovanic, District Commissioner Mark Brenneman, Vice Chair of District Operations Michael Barbera, Vice Chair of Membership the Rev. Arnold McFarland, Vice Chair of Finance Danielle Bowers, District Activities Chair Richard Decker Jr., District Camping Chair Matthew Bowersox, District Advancement Chair Scott Walker, District Nominating Chair Casey Maschue and District Training Chair Mauri Johnson. Incoming district members were Sharon Jackson, Neil Morton, Michele Rhodes, Bill Wittmer, Trisha Nist, David Pyle, Sandra Pyle, Heidi Humbert, Donald Bumbarger, Michael Humbert and Joseph Fetzer.

The district also honored a leader with its District Award of Merit. Casey Maschue, an Eagle Scout, was given the award this year. He serves as an assistant scoutmaster and district committee member. He has also served as a scoutmaster and finance committee member.

The Forbes Trail District serves nine Cub Scout Packs, eight Boy Scout Troops and one Venturing Crew. In all, there are about 400 young people in the district.