Related topics

First American Victory In Bridge Championship

September 22, 1986

BAL HARBOUR, Fla. (AP) _ The United States defeated Pakistan to claim the Rosenblum World Contract Bridge Teams championship for the first time.

With Steven Robinson of Arlington, Va., as captain, the American team built a strong lead Saturday and coasted to victory Sunday, defeating a fatigued Pakistan team 357-207 in a 128-deal final.

Pakistan, with Zia Mahmood as captain, had been forced to battle for 16 hours in Friday’s semifinal.

The U.S. team was not spectacular, but played its methods well and made few errors. Members were Robinson; Neil Silverman, Fort Lauderdale; Bob Lipsitz, Annandale, Va.; Ed Manfield, Arlington; Kit Woolsey Kensington, Calif., and Peter Boyd, McLean, Va.

Pakistan played aggressive bridge all day Sunday to no avail. The team bid many slams and games that were not good percentage propositions and most of them failed. Playing with Mahmood were Nishat Abedi, Nisar Ahmed and Jan- E-Alam Fazli.

The Rosenblum championship, played every for years, was begun in 1978, when Poland won. France won in 1982.

Update hourly