Related topics

Vanilla Ice’s ‘Cool As Ice’ Leads in Raspberry Award Nominations

February 18, 1992

LOS ANGELES (AP) _ Fans of failed films dished up seven Golden Raspberry Award nominations for Vanilla Ice’s ″Cool As Ice″ as Hollywood wags chose the worst movies of 1991.

Bruce Willis’ ″Hudson Hawk″ and Dan Aykroyd’s ″Nothing But Trouble″ both picked up six nominations for Razzie awards in a prelude to Wednesday’s oh-so-serious Academy Award nominations.

The 12th Annual Golden Raspberry Awards, determined by more than 350 people from 26 states and five nations, will be announced March 29 at a ″Press Conference Cum Performance Piece,″ the Golden Raspberry Award Foundation said in a statement. The winners aren’t expected to show up.

″Cool As Ice,″ was nominated for worst picture, worst actor for Ice, worst director for David Kellogg, worst screenplay for David Stenn, two worst new star nominations (including one for Ice) and worst original song.

Other worst picture nominees were ″Dice Rules,″ ″Hudson Hawk,″ ″Nothing But Trouble,″ and ″Return to the Blue Lagoon.″

In an unprecedented double-nomination for the same film, Sean Young was nominated as worst actress in ″A Kiss Before Dying″ as the twin who survives and for worst supporting actress as the twin who dies at the beginning of the movie.

John Candy got a worst supporting actress nomination for appearing in drag in ″Nothing But Trouble.″

Last year’s worst actor winner, Andrew Dice Clay, was nominated again, this time for ″Dice Rules.″ He joins another past winner, Sylvester Stallone, nominated for the eighth consecutive year, this time for ″Oscar,″ a comedy about a mobster.

Joining Clay, Ice and Stallone with worst actor nominations were Kevin Costner for ″Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves″ (which the Razzies renamed ″Robin Hood: Prince of Dweebs″) and Willis for ″Hudson Hawk.″

Past winner Madonna collected a worst actress nomination for ″Truth or Dare;″ joining Young; Kim Basinger for ″The Marrying Man;″ Sally Field for ″Not Without My Daughter;″ Demi Moore for both ″The Butchers Wife″ and ″Nothing But Trouble.″

The awards are organized by John Wilson, a Los Angeles writer of movie advertising trailers and television commercials. Voters include film industry professionals, journalists, publicists and his friends.