Related topics

India wins toss, bats in tri-series ODI vs. Australia

January 18, 2015

MELBOURNE, Australia (AP) — India captain Mahendra Sing Dhoni won the toss and chose to bat Sunday in the tri-series one-day cricket international against Australia at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Dhoni returns as captain of the India limited overs lineup after retiring from test cricket during the recent series against Australia. India also named left-arm spinner Akshar Patel as part of a bowling attack containing seamers Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Sami and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Australia named 21-year-old New South Wales quick Gurinder Sandhu to make his ODI debut. Sandhu, who is not a member of Australia’s World Cup squad, replaces Xavier Doherty in the only change to the lineup that won the tri-series opener against England by three wickets in Sydney on Friday.

Sunday’s match brings together the two top-ranked teams in one-day cricket and winners of the last two World Cups.



Australia: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Shane Watson, Steve Smith, George Bailey (captain), Glenn Maxwell, Brad Haddin, James Faulkner, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Gurinder Sandhu.

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, M.S. Dhoni (captain), Ravi Ashwin, Akshar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav.

Update hourly