Seven Lakes’ Janda voted District 19-6A MVP

November 17, 2018

The Seven Lakes volleyball team won its third consecutive District 19-6A championship and added an area crown to its 28-11 season. At the center of the Spartans’ success was a senior directing one of the area’s most powerful attacks.

Morgan Janda was voted 19-6A Most Valuable Player after leading the Spartans with 785 assists (9.2 per set). A fixture at setter the last two years, including Seven Lakes’ first state tournament last fall, Janda also had 100 kills (1.2), 37 aces, 25 blocks and 273 digs (3.2) as a senior, finishing with almost 2,000 career assists.

Sophomore teammate Ally Batenhorst earned 19-6A Outstanding Hitter honors, while Amy Cataline took home Coach of the Year for the Spartans. Batenhorst amassed 377 kills (4.4), 42 aces, 84 blocks and 202 digs (2.4).

Katy senior Autumn Gentry was honored as Outstanding Setter, recognizing an impressive all-around season to lead the Tigers to the district runner-up spot. In addition to 763 assists (5.5 per set), Gentry amassed 385 kills (2.8), 59 aces and 508 digs (3.7), ranking second on the team in all three.

Morton Ranch junior Katrina Sanchez was voted Outstanding Defensive Player, highlighted by a team-high 508 digs with an average of 5.1 per set. She also fielded more than 500 serves with a 90-percent success rate.

Tompkins freshman Paris Herrman was voted Outstanding Newcomer after a strong varsity debut season. She was a full-rotation player, amassing 266 kills (2.7), 53 aces, 33 blocks and 224 digs (2.3) to help the Falcons reach the playoffs.

Tompkins and Seven Lakes both had three first-team selections. The Falcons were represented by outside hitter Moyra Zulaica (272 kills, 77 aces, 280 digs) and middle blocks Mimi Heholt (204 kills, 113 blocks) and Crispin Adams (203 kills, 282 digs).

The Spartans placed outside hitters Natalie Winter (440 kills, 65 aces, 433 digs) and Lexi Stumbough (337 kills, 99 blocks, 415 digs), and freshman libero Ava Underwood (518 digs) on the first team.

Regional semifinalist Cinco Ranch was led by junior outside hitters Danyle Courtley (410 kills, 287 digs) and Madalyn O’Brien (346 kills, 50 aces, 113 blocks, 283 digs), both making the all-district first team.

Senior middle blocker Amanda Meuth (445 kills, 81 blocks) and freshman setter Maddie Waak (677 assists, 305 digs, 305 kills, 64 aces) represented Katy on the first team.

Taylor senior middle blocker Kailee Moon (160 kills, 94 blocks) received first-team honors, as did Morton Ranch senior outside hitter Katie Lewis (244 kills, 395 digs).

Junior outside hitter Angelina Hardison represented Mayde Creek on the first team. All four of the Rams’ all-district nominees return next season.


Coach of the Year: Amy Cataline, Seven Lakes

MVP: Morgan Janda, Sr., Seven Lakes

Outstanding Hitter: Ally Batenhorst, Soph., Seven Lakes

Outstanding Setter: Autumn Gentry, Sr., Katy

Outstanding Defensive Player: Katrina Sanchez, Jr., Morton Ranch

Outstanding Newcomer: Paris Herrman, Fr., Tompkins

First team

Danyle Courtley, Jr., OH, Cinco Ranch

Madalyn O’Brien, Jr., MH, Cinco Ranch

Amanda Meuth, Sr., MB/OH, Katy

Maddie Waak, Fr., S, Katy

Angelina Hardison, Jr., OH, Mayde Creek

Katie Lewis, Sr., OH, Morton Ranch

Moyra Zulaica, Sr., OH, Tompkins

Mimi Heholt, Sr., MB, Tompkins

Crispin Adams, Sr., MB, Tompkins

Natalie Winter, Sr., OH, Seven Lakes

Lexi Stumbough, Sr., OH, Seven Lakes

Ava Underwood, Fr., L, Seven Lakes

Kailee Moon, Sr., MB, Taylor

Second team

Laura Ehieze, Sr., MB, Cinco Ranch

Aislan Lennon, Jr., S, Cinco Ranch

Maddie Thayer, Jr., L, Katy

Hannah Hoover, Soph., DS, Katy

Tori Whillock, Sr., OH, Katy

Allison Parks, Sr., MB/RS, Katy

Devin Alcoser, Jr., S, Mayde Creek

Khadijah Jokotola, Sr., MB, Morton Ranch

Rebecca Chang, Sr., R, Seven Lakes

Gabrielle Collins, Jr., M, Seven Lakes

Alexi Brown, Jr., DS, Taylor

Reagan Mills, Sr., OH, Taylor

Gabriela Perez, Sr., MB, Taylor

Honorable mention

Haley Payne, Jr., Cinco Ranch; Eva Fitzgerald, Jr., Cinco Ranch; Jayla Wicker, Sr., Katy; Jade Smith, Jr., Mayde Creek; Mecca Freeman, Fr., Mayde Creek; Taylor Nichols, Sr., Morton Ranch; Bethany Powell, Sr., Tompkins; Joanna Vanvalkenburgh, Sr., Seven Lakes; Anna Smith, Sr., Seven Lakes; Lauren Brattain, Jr., Seven Lakes; Daelynn Geddes, Sr., Taylor; Reagan Fitzgerald, Sr. Taylor


Cinco Ranch: Danyle Courtley, Laura Ehieze, Emily Gallagher, Madalyn O’Brien

Katy: Emma Sheehan, Ashton Lindsey, Jayla Wicker, Allison Parks, Hannah Hoover, Katie Goerner, Tori Whillock, Amanda Meuth, Brooke Pulido, Christine Ellington

Mayde Creek: Devin Alcoser, Katie Griese, Angelina Hardison, Aysia Nunn, Jade Smith

Morton Ranch: Samantha Copeland, Darian Johannsen, Khadijah Jokotola, Katie Lewis, Taylor Nichols, Arianna Rosario

Tompkins: Ashleigh Abney, Crispin Adams, Natalie Askins, Darcy Clark, Mika Gonzalez, Mimi Heholt, Paris Herrman, Molly Horton, Cassidy Karonka, Mia Klodzinski, Maddie Madrigal, Eli Posada, Jacqui Reisz, Brynne Shelton, Janet Tchouangwa, Molly Van Houweling

Seven Lakes: Sammie Clewett, Morgan Janda, Lisa Silveira, Anna Smith, Lexi Stumbough, Natalie Winter, Lauren Ross, Nicole Wolff, Ella Mullan, Ally Batenhorst, Lauren Brattain, Rebecca Chang, Shelby Cooke, Jasmine Perry, Casey Batenhorst

Taylor: Amelia Cruz-Montes, Ashley Ayers, Cameron Larkin, Daelynn Geddes, Gabriela Perez, Kinley Carson, Lauren Rothe, Reagan Fitzgerald, Alexi Brown, Jaclyn Guerrero, Leighnn Thompson

Update hourly