Marshall’s School of Medicine celebrates Class of 2019 in Friday night ceremony

May 11, 2019

HUNTINGTON — The Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine’s Class of 2019 earned their doctor of medicine degrees Friday night in the 39th annual graduation and investiture held at the Keith-Albee Performing Arts Center in Huntington.

The graduating class will now move on to their first year of residency, which is their postgraduate training to become full-fledged doctors.

Friday’s ceremony featured speeches by Karl Shaver, the Class of 2019′s president; Marshall University President Jerome Gilbert; Dr. Joseph I. Shapiro, dean of the School of Medicine; and Dr. Charles McKown, vice president of Health Sciences Advancement, among others.