Related topics

Zimbabwe wins toss, bowls in Cricket World Cup match vs UAE

February 18, 2015

NELSON, New Zealand (AP) — Zimbabwe captain Elton Chigumbura won the toss and elected to bowl Thursday in the Cricket World Cup Pool B match against the United Arab Emirates at Saxton Oval.

The match is the UAE’s first at a World Cup since 1996 and its captain, Mohammad Tauqir becomes the oldest captain in World Cup history at 43.

“We’ve already played Australia at the MCG so most of the nerves have gone and we’re looking forward to this game,” Tauqir said.

Zimbabwe named the lineup that lost to South Africa by 62 runs in its opening Pool B match at Hamilton on Sunday.

The match is being played on the same pitch on which Ireland beat the West Indies on Monday, when both sides exceeded 300 runs.



Zimbabwe: Brendan Taylor, Hamilton Masakadza, Elton Chigumbura (captain), Sikandar Raza, Tinashe Panyangara, Sean Williams, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Tendai Chatara, Craig Ervine, Solomon Mire, Chamunowa Chibhabha.

United Arab Emirates: Amjad Ali, Andri Berenger, Krishna Chandran, Khurram Khan, Swapnil Patil, Shaiman Anwar, Rohan Mustafa, Mohammad Naveed, Amjad Javed, Mohammad Tauqir (captain), Nasir Aziz.

Umpires: Johan Cloete, South Africa, and Chris Gaffaney, New Zealand.

Third umpire: Richard Illingworth, England. Match referee: Chris Broad, England.

Update hourly