Click to copy
Click to copy
Related topics

Wall P/SS Caleb Heuertz is TSWA 3A Player of the Year

July 31, 2019

BRYAN, Texas (AP) — Pitcher/shortstop Caleb Heuertz, who led Wall to a state championship, is the Texas Sports Writers Association’s Class 3A baseball player of the year.

Heuertz was 13-0 with a 1.26 earned run average for the 39-1 Hawks. Heuertz also batted .462 with nine home runs and 68 RBI.


Pitchers — Caleb Heuertz, Wall, jr.; Rowan Arrant, Nacogdoches Central Heights, sr.; Luke Young, Wall, jr.

Relief pitcher — Cully McCoy, Malakoff, sr.

Catcher — Tyler LaRue, Blanco, sr.

First baseman — Tyler Justice, Lexington, jr.

Second baseman — Rhett Trlicek, Hallettsville, sr.

Shortstop — (tie) Ryan Gully, Wall, sr., and Drew McNeel, Harmony, sr.

Third baseman — Baylor Smith, Blanco, soph.

Outfielders — James Burchett, Kirbyville, sr.; Gage Weishuhn, Wall, sr.; Owen Woodward, Breckenridge, jr.

Designated hitter — Hayden VanderRoest, Shallowater, sr.

Player of the year — Heuertz, Wall, jr.

Coach of the year — Jason Schniers, Wall


Pitchers — Gage Goddard, Harmony, jr.; Chandler David, Van Alstyne, sr.; Nicolas Hernandez, Bishop, sr.

Relief pitcher — D’Andrey Silva, Breckenridge, sr.

Catcher — (tie) Easton Blackstone, Harmony, sr., and Tanner Seider, Wall, sr.

First baseman — (tie) Cole Gaddis, Malakoff, soph., and Drew Houchin, Bushland, sr.

Second baseman — Eddie Calzoncit, Blanco, sr.

Shortstop — (tie) Samuel Tormos, Van Alstyne, sr., and Ryan Targac, Hallettsville, jr.

Third baseman — Criztian Delgado, Bishop, jr.

Outfielders — Caleb Hill, Grandview, sr.; Jackson Hunter, Blanco, sr.; Holden Lauer, Yoakum, sr.

Designated hitter — Connor Cox, Holliday, sr.


Pitchers — Trenton Sulak, Grandview, sr.; Hagen Rose, Troy, soph.; Dylan Cloonan, Pollok Central, jr.

Relief pitcher — Christian Deal, Clyde, jr.

Catcher — (tie) Staton Pakebusch, Yoakum, soph., and Rhett Gallagher, Van Alstyne, sr.

First baseman — Justin Herriage, Kirbyville, sr.

Second baseman — (tie) Jake Jansa, Wall, sr., and Cade Graves, Pollok Central, sr.

Shortstop — Kobe Jaramillo, Bishop, jr.

Third baseman — (tie) Hunter Laqua, Hallettsville, jr., and Alfredo Rodriguez, Clifton, sr.

Outfielders — Mason Brandenberger, Clifton, jr.; Brody Phillips, Bushland, jr.; (tie) Scout Sanders, Whitesboro, sr., and Justin Wardlow, Blanco, sr.

Designated hitter — (tie) Elias Carrera, Taft, sr., and Landon Ferguson, New Diana, sr.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.