Dillon County to begin e-filing in courts

February 9, 2019

DILLON, S.C. – Dillon County will become the final county in the Pee Dee to join the e-filing pilot program on Feb. 26.

According to an order of the Supreme Court of South Carolina, effective Feb. 26, all filings in common pleas cases commenced or pending in Dillon County must be e-filed if the filing party is represented by an attorney and the type of case is not excluded from the pilot program.

The common pleas courts of South Carolina are the primary beginning point for civil, meaning noncriminal, lawsuits filed in South Carolina.

With the addition of Dillon, 44 of the 46 counties in South Carolina will have been added to the e-filing pilot program that started on Dec. 1, 2015, by another order of the Supreme Court of South Carolina. In the Pee Dee, Williamsburg County (Feb. 2, 2016), Florence County (Oct. 2, 2018), Marion County (Oct. 30, 2018) and Darlington County (Feb. 5) have been added to the e-filing pilot program.

The counties remaining to be added are Abbeville and Charleston.

E-filing refers to the electronic filing of documents in lieu of paper filing. The website of the South Carolina Judicial Department says that e-filing will require less time and resources to file documents and will provide quicker access to documents. The website also says e-filing will improve efficiency by making it possible to file court documents 24-7-365.

Update hourly