Related topics

South Africa bowls in final ODI vs. Zimbabwe

August 21, 2014

BULAWAYO, Zimbabwe (AP) — South Africa won the toss and opted to bowl in the third and final one-day international against Zimbabwe on Thursday.

The Proteas have already clinched the series by winning the first two matches and chose to rest captain AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla and legspinner Imran Tahir for the last ODI at Queens Sports Club.

In their places, South Africa gave international debuts to batsman Rilee Rossouw and left-arm seam bowler Mthokozisi Shezi. Fast bowler Marchant de Lange was the third change and returned to the team for his second ODI. His first was in March 2012.

Faf du Plessis led the team in the absence of limited-over skipper De Villiers.

Zimbabwe also made three changes in search of a consolation win in Bulawayo. Middle-order batsman Malcolm Waller and bowlers Tafadzwa Kamungozi and Tinashe Panyangara were brought in. Former limited-overs captain Brendan Taylor was dropped along with Neville Madziva and Brian Vitori.

South Africa claimed the series with comfortable wins on Sunday and Tuesday, and took the chance to rotate its squad ahead of a triangular series against the Zimbabweans and Australia starting next week.

Fast bowlers Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander and Morne Morkel were rested for the entire ODI series in preparation for South Africa’s triangular opener against the Aussies on Wednesday in Harare.



Zimbabwe: Elton Chigumbura (captain), Hamilton Masakadza, Richmond Mutumbami, Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams, Malcolm Waller, Luke Jongwe, Prosper Utseya, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Tafadzwa Kamungozi.

South Africa: Faf du Plessis (captain), Quinton de Kock, Rilee Rossouw, JP Duminy, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Wayne Parnell, Kyle Abbott, Aaron Phangiso, Marchant de Lange, Mthokozisi Shezi.

Update hourly