$3.25 million in grants awarded to expand mental health services for students

July 24, 2018

The state Department of Public Instruction on Monday announced 64 grants to Wisconsin school districts to expand mental health services. Grant amounts totaled $3.25 million.

“In a given year, one in five students faces a mental health issue, with more than 80 percent of incidents going untreated,” state superintendent Tony Evers said in a statement. “This grant is a good start toward student mental health needs.”

The grant funds may be used for a variety of services, including increasing staff capacity to create trauma-sensitive environments, providing training to staff and students to recognize mental health challenges, and helping students and families get access to treatment.

Grants to school districts and consortia in Dane County and surrounding counties include:

Beloit School District, $75,000Boscobel School District, $68,171Elkhorn School District, $67,500Jefferson County Mental Health Consortium (Edgerton, Fort Atkinson, Jefferson, Johnson Creek, Lake Mills Area, Watertown Unified and Whitewater Unified), $75,000Lodi School District, $23,300Madison School District, $75,000Stoughton School District, $66,836Sun Prairie School District, $75,000

Update hourly