Houston Association of Realtors HAR’s 2019 leadership team takes oath of office

December 30, 2018

Realtor Celebration, the Houston Association of Realtors’ biggest event of the year, took place on the evening of Dec. 13 at the Houston Country Club, and featured the much-anticipated swearing in of the 2019 HAR Board of Directors and incoming chair. HAR’s Executive Committee for the new year consists of the following members:

Shannon Cobb Evans, chair — Heritage Texas Properties

John Nugent, chairman-elect — RE/MAX Space Center

Richard Miranda, vice chairman — Keller Williams Realty Greater Northwest

Jennifer Wauhob, vice chair — Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate Gary Greene — Katy

Cathy Trevino, secretary/treasurer — Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Anderson Properties

Kenya Burrell-VanWormer, immediate past chair — JPMorgan Chase

The following directors make up HAR’s 2019 governing body:

Ward Arendt — Marilyn Arendt Properties

Diana Ayers — Ayers and Associates

Katrina Barnes — RE/MAX Exclusive

John Braun — Bayou Properties Realty, LLC

Chance Brown — CB&A Realtors

Troy Cothran — Victory Properties, Inc.

Mark Dimas — Mark Dimas Properties

Nancy Furst — JLA Realty

Stephanie Gordon — Exit Ford Realty Team

Katie Kossev — Intero Real Estate Services

Krista Lancton — Champions Real Estate Group

Thomas Mouton — RE/MAX Exclusive

Robin Mueck — Heritage Texas Properties

Michelle Posey — Better Homes and Gardens Real Estate Gary Greene — Fort Bend

Deborah Spangler — Spangler Real Estate Group

Tim Surratt — Greenwood King Properties — Kirby

Realtor Celebration also devoted a segment to recognizing four outstanding real estate professionals for their exceptional dedication and community stewardship. Former HAR chairman Mario Arriaga, broker/owner of the First Group, was honored as one of two 2018 Realtors of the Year.

He shares that distinction with Jo Ann Stevens, a top producer with Lane Real Estate in Sugar Land.

Houston City Council members Brenda Stardig (District A) and Martha Castex-Tatum (District K), both HAR members, were recipients of the 2018 John E. Wolf Community Service Award.

Stardig is a top producer with Patrick Real Estate Inc. and Castex-Tatum is a top producer with Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices.

HAR president and CEO Bob Hale saluted outgoing HAR chair Kenya Burrell-VanWormer for her tireless commitment to the association and the real estate industry throughout 2018.

Hale narrated a retrospective about Burrell-VanWormer’s year of service featuring slides from events she attended around the country on behalf of HAR.

Guests were also treated to a video about 2019 HAR chair Shannon Cobb Evans’ personal and professional journey, culminating with her career in real estate and, effective Jan. 1, chairmanship of the 39,000-member HAR.

Update hourly