Related topics

12 journalists named Knight fellows at Stanford

May 8, 1997

STANFORD, Calif. (AP) _ Twelve journalists have been awarded John S. Knight Fellowships at Stanford University for the 1997-1998 academic year.

They will pursue independent courses of study. Support for the program comes from a grant from the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation.

The winners are: Alvin Bessent, editorial writer, Newsday; John Boudreau, reporter, Contra Costa (Calif.) Times; Dob Drogin, Johannesburg bureau chief for the Los Angeles Times; Ann Grimes, deputy national editor, The Washington Post; Curtis Krueger, reporter and columnist, St. Petersburg (Fla.) Times; Kevin McKenna, editorial director, The New York Times Electronic Media Co.; Roberta Oster, producer, Dateline, NBC News; Gary Polakovic, environmental writer, Riverside (Calif.) Press-Enterprise; Debra Shapiro, senior producer, WCVB-TV Boston; Tabitha Soren, senior political correspondent, MTV News; Susan Warner, business reporter, The Philadelphia Inquirer; Harriet Washington, freelance medical writer, Rochester, N.Y.

Update hourly