Related topics

Foundation Announces Program on Washington Coverage

September 25, 1986

WASHINGTON (AP) _ A $1 million program to give reporters for newspapers and broadcast stations around the country exposure to Washington news coverage, was announced Wednesday by the Gannett Foundation.

The program is named for Paul Miller, former chairman and president of Gannett Co., as well as former chairman and president of The Associated Press.

Allen H. Neuharth, chairman of Gannett, called Miller ″one of the outstanding journalists of our time″ and said the program ″will benefit many journalists of the future.″

Administered by the Gannett Foundation, the Paul Miller Washington Reporting Fellowships will allow 12 newly assigned Washington correspondents each year to spend two days a month with experienced reporters, visiting sources of local news, and exploring opportunities to get to know newsmakers and behind-the-scenes sources.

″Local news reporters will get in-depth training and exposure to contacts they’ll need to cover news and trends that affect their hometown audiences,″ said Eugene C. Dorsey, Gannett Foundation president.

Faculty members for the program will be drawn from reporters and others with inside knowledge of how the capital works and how it can be more effectively covered for readers and viewers across the nation.

The fellows and faculty will be chosen by a 13-member board of advisers chaired by John C. Quinn, chief news executive of Gannett Co.

Other members of the board of advisers are Dorsey; Edward P. Bassett, dean of the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University; John C. Curley, president of Gannett Co.; Grant Dillman, former vice president of United Press International; Robert E. Farrell, chief of the Washington World News Bureau of McGraw-Hill Publications; Judy Grande of the Cleveland Plain Dealer; James P. Gannon, editor of the Des Moines Register; Jay Harris, executive editor of the Philadelphia Daily News.

Also, Brian P. Lamb, chairman of C-Span; Charles J. Lewis, Washington bureau chief of The Associated Press; Mary Kay Quinlan, reporter for Gannett News Service; and Ernie Schultz, executive vice president of the Radio- Television News Directors Association.

Update hourly