AP NEWS
Related topics

Seigenthaler to host Al-Jazeera America’s top news

August 14, 2013

NEW YORK (AP) — A former NBC News anchor will host Al-Jazeera America’s main prime-time nightly newscast when the network goes on the air next Tuesday.

The new network on Wednesday began filling in some of the details about what its schedule will look like. Over the past couple of months, it has announced the hiring of several U.S. television veterans for the launch.

John Seigenthaler’s hour-long show will air at 8 p.m. Eastern time (0000 GMT). It will be followed by a magazine-style show anchored by Joie Chen called “America Tonight.”

Ali Velshi, like Chen a CNN alum, will host a business-oriented show, “Real Money,” that will air weekdays at 7 p.m. ET (2300 GMT). Antonio Mora will host “Consider This,” a talk show about current events.

“Late Night News,” for which no anchor has been listed, will be a second news summary that airs at 11 p.m. ET (0300 GMT), the beginning of prime time on the U.S. West Coast.

At 7:30 p.m. ET (2330 GMT), the show “The Stream” is being described as a uniquely-formatted program that allows people to connect and comment on the world through social media.

Al-Jazeera America announced two Sunday night shows: “Fault Lines” will investigate the impact of politics and policies on individual communities. “TechKnow” is about scientific discoveries that are changing lives.

The network will debut in more than 45 million homes to replace the old Current TV.

AP RADIO
Update hourly